Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Cris

Needs to improve...

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Meh. Rooms are fairly nice and large, everything else very 3 star. Elevator is slow. Not much food in hotel, no real bar only an uncomfortable seating area in the lobby. Not many good restaurants and nothing much to do nearby. Wireless connectivity in rooms is on/off again. Front desk staff are warm bodies, not very interested/accommodating. The feeling is they have something else they are actually or would rather be doing other than looking after your needs...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017
Dear Guest, I would like to personally thank you, for the trust given to our hotel, NH Catania Centro, by choosing us for your stay in Catania. With regards to your comments, we have read them carefully and would like to inform you that all the feedback given is the most reliable method of monitoring the service we offer and to improve the issues that need to be developed in order to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and to provide an extraordinary service. This comments will be highly valued for next actions to be implemented. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not having been able to cover your expectations. We hope you give us a second chance. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Giovanni Cervera General Manager
4 out of 5
by Diane

Good location for attractions of Catania

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable hotel within walking distance of main attractions of Catania. Staff were helpful with early check in and recommendations for places to eat etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017
Dear Guest, First, let me show you my sincere gratitude for their time by sending your review through Expedia and for the trust you have placed choosing NH Catania Centro. I very much appreciate your comments that I shared with my staff. They are the symbol of our excellence, a service characterized by professionalism and continuous efforts to satisfy our customers. I assure you that comments like his give us the incentive to continue in our daily effort and is our main aim to ensure that the customer may be surprised and feel special during their stay at our hotel. We hope to have you soon again our guest, to try also to transform its "Good" to "Excellent". See you soon. Giovanni Cervera
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Very polite and helpful hotel staff, a good base to visit near by places like Taormina and Syracuse!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Hotel is dated, but location is great and front desk staff is extraordinary for helping coordinate plans and excursions!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Catania in November

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The NH Catania is a good choice for a stay in Catania. As other reviewers have noted, it's in a quieter part of the city, right by bus stops for the airport and city buses. You can walk to the historic center or train/bus station in about 20-25 minutes. It's a newer hotel, and room/facilities are fine. The hotel staff were all friendly enough. As others reported, the breakfast does emphasize baked goods - but they're quality baked goods. The restaurant is OK - there aren't too many other eating options close by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Catania is a compact city and easy to get around. The market which is daily is well worth experiencing. My wife bought loads of clothes for our young grandchildren. The restaurants are all good and quite cheap. I recommend this city. Airport not far away. Under 20 euros for the taxi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dreadful Stay

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
The receptionist did nit have a good grasp of English when checking in. The room temperature in the bedroom was 27 degrees we contacted reception who said they would fix it at reception she asked what temperature we would like we said 21/22 15 minutes later the temperature was 28.5 and getting hotter we opened the window and bedroom door to try and cool the room down. Not a good nights sleep. next day we went to reception and she informed us the problem would be fixed. We returned to the hotel late around 10 pm to find the room temperature at 27.5 we contacted reception once again she said she would switch of the A/c. 30 minutes later still at 27/28 degrees called to reception she said she would send someone to look at the controls The gentleman came into the room pressed a few buttons and said he would sort it at reception 30 minutes later still 27 degrees called reception who then said we would have to move rooms!! it was after 11.00 pm we were then called back to say they were switching on the a/c in reception and this would solve the problem!!. A dreadful stay in an hotel who;s air conditioning can not be operated by the staff. Breakfast was very bad with no tables available we had to clean a table to use to have our breakfast. We did inform reception of our experience on check out but I am not sure he understood us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good location in Catania

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The room was very clean and quiet. The range of and quality of food at breakfast was excellent. Staff helped with booking a taxi for the airport.
Cons: Checking with guests on arrival if they would like a smoking room - really in these days it would be better if all hotels were non-smoking.
Location: Easy walking distance to Catania centre, shops and historic area.
Generally a good experience, with the main downside being that I was given a smoking room even though I am a non smoker so there was a slight smell of smoke when first entering the room. The wifi worked in the room on the first day but then stopped working although it worked in reception and the restaurant.