Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted May 17, 2017
The hotel is excelente, but is far to centre. You depends de taxi ir autobus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

Could have been a nice hotel but...

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Jacuzzi jets didn't work in tub. Couldn't regulate the hot and cold water. Felt like I was scalded by hot water. No one ever cleaned the room while I stayed there so no clean linens etc... They said I put out the do not disturb card. I never saw a do not disturb card anywhere. Door not working with card key. Finally door wouldn't open at all. Had to wait for two staff members tell me yes it wasn't working. Apparently hotel already knew about it but...hmmm. Bathroom door locked itself. Couldn't get into the bathroom one night. Reported incidents and got a shrug. Rooms overlook a busy highway...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean hotel nice sea view

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed many times at the plaza. The only thing why I did not give this hotel 5 star the room was to hot I did tell the reception but they did nothing. The breakfast was good but before it was much better. Dont give that type of juice in breakfast it taste of water and you can make much better croissants than that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to the black rock beach

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Amazing staff, specially Fabio that was extremely helpful and sweet. Beautiful view from the roof terrass. Approx 15 min by car from the heart of Catania. Not close to a sandy beach but a great area have been built on the cliffs for swimming and sunbathing with a bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Nice hotel overlooking sea

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pre booking the hotel shuttle service made our arrival so easy 25€. Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. About 50 minute walk to town centre
3 out of 5
by Robert from Santa Barbara

Modern hotel away from the main tourist areas.

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Had booked a "single" type of room and found it to be extremely small with a very poor layout. Queen size bed took up 80% of the room and lamps blocked what little area was left to maneuver around the bed. Bathroom had no counter space near the sink or inside shower stall. But the staff was extremely friendly/helpful and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. Hotel is in a nice residential area across the street from the sea, but a little inconvenient in terms of getting to/from the main Catania tourist areas.
4 out of 5
by Stefano from Tallinn

Very comfortable

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great place both for business or weekend getaway: plenty of services in the area; hotel very comfortable with very good service. Good restaurants in the nearby waterfront.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Value Hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
The value for money for this hotel is the best you can find in the area. Big rooms very clean. Breakfast ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

10 DAYS IN CATANIA - PLAZA HOTEL

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: The front counter staff are the very best. They were very helpful and I cannot stress enough just how brilliant they are.
Cons: The shuttle should be complementary and should make a regular run to and from old Catania for guests. The breakfast service needs to be improved.
Location: There are some nice restaurants and cafes nearby but the heart of Catania is a some 35+ minute hike from the hotel.
The hotel is neat, clean, well appointed and across the street from some nice restaurants along the beach. However there are some issues. If you take a 'mountain view room' you do not want to be on the 1st floor. Your view will be of heating ducts and trees. I addressed this issue with the front staff and was moved to a much more satisfactory room the next day. There is no gym or pool which seemed odd for a four star. The breakfast is satisfactory and plentiful but on one occasion the catering staff did not light the chaffing dishes and the scrambled eggs and mini-sausages (wieners) were ice cold. Tables were oft left unattended while guests looked for a clean place to sit and utensils with which to eat. The hotel has a shuttle which I took on our departure. I thought it was complementary but I was charged 15 Euro for the short trip from the hotel to the train station. In spite of all the above we did have a pleasant stay and would likely return.