Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
Cons: The only negative comment would be that you have to buy your own bottled water! Many if not all hotels in Mexico supply bottled water to their guests
It was a very pleasant, relaxing hotel. The lake view was fabulous, with shore birds, and good restaurant.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view but a bit outdated. AC doesn't work well

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Beautiful view and nice staff. It's probably the best hotel in the area.
3 out of 5
by jennifer from New York

You're in the middle of the jungle

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived here late at night and it was raining hard. There was someone waiting for us at the door with umbrellas which was really nice. The lobby and restaurant were beautiful. The pool and bar area were beautiful as well. But our room wasn't. There were ants all over the bathroom and bedroom floor. And those little white tiny lizards on the walls. The bed seemed very flimsy and the sheets and towels looked very worn out. We called the front desk and asked if we could get another room but the guy just kept saying "we're in the middle of the lake and jungle, we can't do anything about the mosquitos and the ants". But he did send someone to spray Raid where we saw the ants. When the guy started spraying, more ants came out. It looked like an infestation and he admited that that was not ok. He called the front desk and told them they need to change our room. We got the room across. Still had ants but it was better. Apart from that bad experience everything else was good. The food was good, the massages at the spa were great. It wasn't bad.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Adequate for an overnight stay

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The setting on the lagoon, it cannot be beaten. Also well worth taking the lancha from the hotel as it is the same cost as being pestered in town.
Cons: the bedding, the paint work
Location: Everyone goes to Catemaco for the boat trip and the nature reserve, the shaman is also worth a visit
The setting is beautiful. The rooms are dated and just about 3 star, definitely not 4 star as it claims. It's just tired and the whole could do with a lick of paint and a general tidy up. The ceilings are full of mosquito splats, this tells you a story and be prepared to be bitten ;) The evening meal was odd in that it took fifteen minutes from the first meal out of 6 people to fully arrive. We ordered two servings of enchiladas suizas, one arrived with onion, one without. both with different cheeses.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Quiet Hideaway

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Quieter A/C units
Location: Swimming in Lake Catemaco, or kayaking in the lake. Also Catemaco central is quaint and nice. the Church is an amazing building.
La Finca is a hidden gem on the lake. The café and bar are out in the open overlooking the lake, the staff was awesome and very friendly and helpful. Even if you do not speak much Spanish you will be fine at La Finca. Rooms are nice and clean and simple. They are not super plush facilities but plenty of room and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice romantic getaway.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent location and view

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Was there for three nights. Overall a good stay. Restaurant could do better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México City


Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The short distance to the down-town and to Catemacos Lagoon
Cons: EVERYTHING speacially that the hotel's comforties are open to the public
Location: good
The hotel is open to the public, as a consequence you can´t use the pool, because people who IS NOT registered at the hotel gets complete access to the hotel and enjoy of the hotels commodities such as the pool and gardens, due to this horrifying error, a great sum of kids that (again) are not registered as a guest in the hotel, enjoy of the swimming-pool, and even SWIM IN REGULAR CLOTHES!!!! and even more unbelievable ADULTS go along with the infants and swim in regular clothes. Foreign drinks to the hotel are also allowed, therefore, families, adults, and groups of friends. bring drinks inside the hotel. This information about the hotel being open to the public was verified to myself by the front desk staff. So I'm wondering why if this hotel lacks in quality in their service (this includes comfort) and especially the guests´ SECURITY (because the hotel let's allows ANYONE in, imagine what could happen); then, why is so expensive stay at this hotel? It really isn't worth it....really DISAPPOINTED!
2 out of 5
by Armando from Mexico City

Nice view, poor condition of the hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
I think the hotel have a great view, but it will be nice that the rooms, the restaurant and all the other services where in better shape. It was clear for me, that they do, or maybe not at all, very little maintenance.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Lucia from Santa Fe, NM, USA

Best pick in Catemaco

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: People
Cons: Hotel needs new furniture
Location: Great
Not many options to choose in catemaco, people, food and service are amazing, room not really! But considering you are in the jungle you won't find anything better. Be ready for limited or NO Internet or cell signal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to relax

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels
The view is unrivaled. Rooms are very clean. Tile floors are good. Nice pool and good restaurant. The hot tub is old. Due to the proximity to the lake there are little mosquitos but they are not too aggressive. The faucet in room 105 was loose. The AC is loud. The wireless internet, while free, is usually only in the lobby, and its terribly slow if it works at all. That being said, this hotel is the best in the area by a long shot.