Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2018
Amazing hotel. Stunning rooms and bathrooms and fabulous hotel staff willing to help with anything. Only down side is there is no parking and not easy to drop off luggage at the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Luxury in Belfast

Posted Apr 13, 2018
We stayed at the Merchant Hotel for five nights. In every way it was perfect. The accommodation was luxurious. The staff unfailingly pleasant and attentive. The food was of an exceptional quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Belfast but the whole experience was enhanced by our stay at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A well run hotel.

Posted Apr 5, 2018
A lovely stay at the Merchant. Spacious rooms & comfortable beds. Decor is a bit tired, brighter colours would enhance rooms greatly.Food excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Belfast break

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Simply a fabulous hotel great central location with attentive safe and beautiful rooms will most definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Cannot fault anything about the Merchant. The staff were fantastic so friendly and welcoming. The food in the Great Room was wonderful and Bert's jazz bar buzzing. A memorable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 star luxury

Posted Mar 12, 2018 on Hotels
Absolutely fabulous in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in downtown Belfast

Posted Mar 8, 2018
The Merchant Hotel is outstanding for location, service and quality of food in The Great Room. The staff, in particular, deserves an extra star - they went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed but great bar

Posted Feb 25, 2018 on Hotels
I have stayed at The Merchant on several occasions and have always been very pleased. On this occasion I had booked a double room as it was a valentines getaway. I was very disappointed that we were placed in a twin room and when I rang the front desk to complain I got no answer. We were placed in one of the Victorian rooms (317) which looked a bit tired and could do with a freshen up. The cocktail bar was fantastic and the breakfast was also very good. I am undecided if I will return as there are several other good places to stay in Belfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Very Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2018
This hotel is very beautiful. Located right in the city center. Enjoyed the room my wife and I had. It was very big and the bathroom had both a tub and separate shower. Breakfast was very good and the dining room was very beautiful. Staff were very courteous and professional. Close to the Titanic experience and all downtown has to offer.