Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Excellent city centre hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Smart hotel with friendly, helpful staff
Location: Hop-on, hop-off sightseeing bus provided a great introduction to the city and then enjoyed the City Hall and Titanic Experience.
A little bit of luxury perfectly located in Belfast city centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon, Wiltshire

Luxury, comfort and service

Posted Jul 31, 2017
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the friendly staff couldn't do enough to help us. The room was large and well appointed, with a massive, comfortable bed. The food in the restaurant was delicious and delivered by competent, friendly staff. We loved the decor and the ambience. Well worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location in Belfast

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Very comfortable hotel. Great location and pick Victorian or Art Deco. Dining room is wonderful with included breakfast off the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel in the City Centre

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Restaurants. Rooms and enormous bathroom.. Rooftop hot tub.
Cons: Nothing
Location: In City Centre close to everything.
Stayed here for daughter's graduation. The best Belfast hotel by far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Good location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful hotel and great service. Excellent food and recommend cocktail bar and jazz bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Sharmaine Meldrum, Hotel Management
Good Morning Jen Thank you for taking the time to review The Merchant Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the food and cocktails they really are divine! Kind Regards Sharmaine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High wycombe

Fantastic City Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The people who made our stay so special.
Location: Titanic Museum about 15 mins from The Merchant. St. Anne's Cathedral. St. George's Church (opposite The Merchant), Billy is very friendly.
Amazing hotel, the staff are friendly and super-helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The Spa is also a fantastic place to spend a couple of hours with a sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and heated seats, would recommend The Spa Taster which includes a massage. We had rooms on the second floor, they were clean and everything provided, ironing board/iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee making etc. The breakfast was first class, loved the full Irish breakfast, the pancakes and porridge. The people of Belfast are very proud and it shows in everything they do to make your stay a truly memorable one, highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Sharmaine Meldrum, Hotel Management
Good Morning Michelle, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at The Merchant Hotel. Your comments will be shared with the team and we are delighted that you had such a memorable stay. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Merchant Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Sharmaine
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were fabulous they couldn't do enough for you, clean spacious room and wonderful food
Location: Great for sight seeing
Fantastic, it ways a gift for my sisters 60th and it was perfect she loved every minute
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA, USA

Merchant Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Excellent stay, every was too notch, the only issue was the location of the wardrobe in our room with the amount of luggage the wife and myself travel with.Would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by IVAN

Very happy return to Belfast after many years.

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in for a long time. The staff plus facilities are magnificent . We had dinner in the fantastic Great Room - first class meal and superb service. Berts Jazz Bar ( in the hotel ) is a must - as is the Cocktail bar. I cannot praise the staff highly enough - very professional yet very friendly and made our stay a pleasure. ( Chris on reception, Martin, John and David in cocktail bar/jazz bar.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

An exquisite hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent service, beautiful architecture, beautiful and spacious room, excellent food - everything!
Cons: Can't think of any.
Location: Central location, shopping and restaurants nearby. 15 min walk to the Titanic Museum.
An amazing experience staying at this beautiful hotel. Everything was perfect - warm welcome and quick check in, our Art Deco room was tastefully furnished, and very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom is beautiful! We have breakfast at this absolutely stunning central hall (hotel used to be the Headoffice of Ulster Bank). Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed both lunch and dinner at different restaurants in the hotel as well. Dinner at the hotel Bert Bar with jazz music one night and it was very good. The most excusite was the evening turn down service with nice chocolate and tea and coffee tray for the evening. Everything is so well put together and this is what a true luxury hotel should be. Both my husband and I travel extensively and we always choose beautiful hotel with nice characters to stay in. The Merchant Hotel sure is on the top of my list! We will definitely stay at The Merchant when we visit Belfast!