Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Basement room in owner's home

Posted Jul 6, 2016
The owners of the home are nice and welcoming but the accommodations are disappointing. The bathroom is located through the utility room around the corner and no effort was taken to make it appear as though we were paying guests. The bedroom was fine and has wifi. The hot tub that appears in the pictures is ok but not well maintained. The views from the property are amazing and the peacock on the property is fun but It seems like this is just a way to make a little extra cash on the side. Clearly this is not a passion for the couple.
4 out of 5
by Z. Yang from Binghamton NY

great view!

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
The people are really nice! We enjoyed our stay. Only problem is on the hotels.com it is clearly stated the room has two full beds, but it only has two twin sized bed. The owner also felt angry for hotels.com misled the customers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

basement room in house

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
Not at all what we expected. The room was in a dark basement, To get to the bathroom, you had to go through the basement recreation room and then a utility room. No lock on bedroom door. Basement entrance was a under a deck that was cluttered with junk and grown over with weeds. Outside hot tub was covered with a tarp.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Worth the trek

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Make sure your Garmin is working--and remember this is literally up in the mountains. Directions can be a little tricky.
Location: I was staying overnight so I could pick my kids up at Frost Valley YMCA camp. SUNY New Paltz isn't far away either.
Delightful place, wonderful people, immaculate room, spectacular view of the Catskills. And don't forget to say hello to Percy, their "almost domesticated" peacock. You won't believe your eyes!
5 out of 5
by John from Ithaca, NY

Great area for hiking!

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels
We had a good stay and the B & B host was very nice and and the views from here were awesome! great place highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Ariane from Avignon

Magnifique maison au bout du monde

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Voir plus haut.
Cons: La signalétique pour accéder au lieu.
Arrivée au Blue Horizon assez épique , mais la maison est magnifique, avec une décoration formidable, beaucoup de fleurs, de végétation , et des hôtes d'une extrême gentillesse. Le matin un délicieux petit déjeuner dans un paysage grandiose!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spencerport, NY

Extreme Hospitality

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels
Persnoalty and comfortable ambiance abound. Delicious breakfasts, with good conversation, and a view to beat the band. Will return if ever in the area again.
5 out of 5
by Laurie J. from Atlanta

Beautiful and welcoming, and off the beaten path!

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels
We chose the Blue Horizon for a change of pace from the typical hotel "room in a box" near our daughter's summer camp in Loch Sheldrake. We were not disappointed! This bed and breakfast is truly one of a kind, with a resident peacock, gorgeous views, and most gracious hosts. We were also treated to an early morning sighting of a mama and baby black bear, enjoying wild blueberries in the fields below. A delicious breakfast with other guests was another highlight. Just wish we could have stayed longer. A tip: call the owners before you arrive to make sure you have good directions--or you may miss the final turn.
5 out of 5
by Tammy & Derek from Brooklyn

Lovely

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels
What a relaxing, cordial, warm and lovely stay we had at the Blue Horizon. It is aptly named as my husband and I sat in the hot tub on the top of the mountain gazing at the distant mountains in the blue horizon. gorgeous. Alden could not have been a better host. We had relaxed and lovely conversations and also moments of privacy. He was most generous and offered us unexpected drinks, and comfy bath robes. He was very understanding when we had to rise quite early upon our departure. Loved our experience. A very special evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect post-backpacking stopover

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels
We did a 3-day backcountry trip in the Catskills and then spent a day at Blue Horizon. It's 20 mins from the trail. The view from the outdoor hot-tub is simply astounding. It was great for us, and we'll probably stay there again before/after our next trip.