Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lecce, Italy

Deliberate deception

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Now I will know without doubt what to answer when people ask me what the worst hotel I've ever stayed in was.
Cons: They have to tell their agents, including Expedia, if they are closing. And they have to tell their clients, too! It's a deliberate deceit not to...
Location: Cattolica is a pleasant seaside town with plenty of nice food and drink.
I booked Hotel Kursaal via Expedia, because it looked a nice change. On my previous visit to Cattolica I'd stayed at a different hotel a couple of hundred metres down the road called The Cristallo and been very disappointed by it's tiny and dark rooms, poor breakfast, and lack of facilities. So somewhere new was called for and The Kursaal looked promising. After a long journey I arrived to find the Hotel Kursaal was closed. Front door firmly locked. Dark inside. It looked deserted. Turning away and bracing myself for the call to Expedia, I stopped as a lady appeared from inside. She confirmed that Hotel Kursaal was indeed closed. I explained that I had a reservation, which I showed her. "Ah", she said, "no problem. When we are closed we put all our bookings in Hotel Cristallo". Great news. She called her partner in crime at The Cristallo and confirmed that I had been moved there. She also scolded the person on the other end of the phone for not having contacted me and pointed out that had I come 5 minutes later I wouldn't have found anyone at Hotel Kursaal because she "had to get home straight away". Interesting to hear. There was nothing for it but to head for The Cristallo. What if it had been 11pm? I had a business meeting scheduled an hour later and wanted to iron a shirt. The receptionist explained they had no iron in the hotel (no change from a year ago). The bin in the bathroom contained the bathroom waste from the previous guest. Don't book.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is good, near all amenaties

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was average although we had to go to another hotel for our evening meals. On a couple of occasions it was pouring with rain and so this became somewhat of a nuiscance. Also we were not advise that there would be a hotel tax to pay to the hotel at the end of our stay. Having spent most of our money this came as a surprise and we just about managed to scrape the money together to pay. Travellers should be warned of the tax in advance, as we were not and it left a sour note.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location Great. Equipment and staff Dodgy!

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
The location was the biggest plus. In the hub of shops, Restaurants, bars etc. However, the room facilities are poor; The electrics didn't work, Once eventually fixed the fridge didn't work!! All Brits note there is no Kettle in the room, so every time you fancy a cuppa its to pay for at the Restaurant. Further, you would do yourself a favor by learning a few phrases or keep a translate device - because the communication was a BIG PROBLEM! Another thing I noticed, some staff in the Restaurant had a bit of a attitude - ask them a few times for something and they would start to roll their eyes at you!!
4 out of 5
by susanne

Posted Jul 16, 2012 on Hotels
great hotel, room was clean, roomy and had a great view of the sea. i would not recommend the restaurant - pricey and selection of food limited.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solihull, West Midlands

perfect for an Italian Beach hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2009 on Hotels
This hotel is clean and comfortable and has a good position on the beach. The swimming pool is very small but the beach is right outside so it makes up for it. Breakfast was good and it is well placed to stroll around Cattolica at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Kursaal - Cattolica - Great Location

Posted Aug 3, 2009
Good Hotel - great location. Bit disappointed with the pool but with the sea that close it shouldnt matter. Staff very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Hotel not clean, need a restauration. Beach is nice and good for Childrens... Restaurant is ok. Hotel staff is ok. Pool is not clean.
4 out of 5
by Luigi

Soggiorno hotel kurssal

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Soggiorno abbastanza buono. personale gentile. Ottima Colazione
4 out of 5
by Luca

Pensavo decisamente meglio

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Posizione e location buone....la nostra stanza aveva mobilia datata differente dalle foto su internet....moquette nei corridoi sporca...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfekt für Strandurlaub

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Schönes Hotel direkt am Strand, perfekt für Badeurlaub, zentral gelegen. Frühstück ist typisch italienisch mit viel Kuchen und Gebäck, wer es herzhaft mag, hat nicht so viel Auswahl. Schöner Speisesaal im Wintergarten mit Blick auf den Strand und Meer. Zimmer sind sauber, Matratzen sehr hart. Pool gibt es auch, der Strand ist aber direkt am Hotel. Meer ist in dem Bereich sehr sauber, kaum Algen.