Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney , Australia

Loved the hotel very comfortable stay !

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay at Fontabussi Beautiful food enjoyed our dining at the restaurant all staff across the board very helpful and pleasant ! We would definately love to come back again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable getaway

Posted Jun 10, 2016
This resort was phenomenal- exceptional food, pool, privacy, tranquility and service. I would stay here again for sure and advise anyone to do the same. I have been a lot of places but fontebussi stands out as one of the most enjoyable tranquil places i have ever stayed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great experience, hidden costs for single occupant

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Location: The location is stunning, however there was nothing nearby to do...
The room was beautiful and comfortable. The surrounding area was stunning. The staff bent over backwards to please and were delightful. The food and service was impeccable. When trying to book a taxi to the station upon departure, I had to wait nearly 4 hours to get one. When paying my bill upon checkout, it became evident at this point for the first time that there was a single person supplement increasing the cost of my stay by an additional third of the price! Quite a shock at the time! I am still uncertain as to who is responsible for this hidden cost.. Was it the hotel, or was it Expedia?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, California

This hotel and staff are the very best.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Everything is perfect, the setting, staff is 5 star, wonderful restaurant. Grounds are very lovely and rooms large and well appointed.
Cons: I don't think the Expedia picture you first see on the website does the property justice. We had no idea how truly beautiful the property really was.
Location: Location is out of the town, but set high over the lovely valley. Many sights and towns tot travel to nearby.
My sister was gravely ill and we booked this hotel for 5 nights . It was our comfort, beautiful setting and just simply lovely in all respects. Beyond excellent was the staff, they went way out of their way to help us with language problems, paperwork from the Doctors in the U.S., late night dinner. The manager was caring himself, everyone was warm and supportive while still being very professional. Patricia drove way out of her way to bring paperwork to the hospital. Breakfasts were delicious and generous, dinner looking at the sun setting over the Tuscan was excellent. We will go back again and again.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Ireland

Wedding in fontebussi

Posted May 26, 2013 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights there for family wedding. Beautiful hotel, idyllic setting. Breakfast was great. Facilities fantastic. Downside very difficult to find and to reach without car.internet only available n public areas. Also had problems with the usually very friendly reception over cancellation policy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Whitehouse Station, Readington, NJ, USA

Comfortable and Friendly.Poor internet service.

Posted May 24, 2012
Pros: The scenery and calm.
Cons: Poor internet service.
Location: Beautiful villa constructed of brick and stone. Gardens everywhere. Rooms or apartment living.
scenic...absolutely beautiful grounds. Out in the country. Hire a car and driver for a trip to Siena and taste at a winery.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Beautiful place

Posted Apr 22, 2011
This was such a great relaxing place. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The view from our room was like something from a Tuscan picture. The only small negative was the hotel restaurant was closed both nights we were there. Beds were very comfortable and room was very nice. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

True Tuscany Experience

Posted Feb 28, 2011
Magnificent hotel tucked away in the hills of the Chianti region. Marvellous hosts, wonderful rooms, and a fantastic area to dwell for a few days. Absolutely wonderful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Borgo di Fontebussi - Great Scenery, Bad Service

Posted Jul 29, 2010 on Hotels
Location: Siena - beautiful Tuscan city.
As hoped, the scenery and location were beautiful. The food at the restaurant was also quite good and reasonably priced, and the restaurant staff was friendly and professional. Unfortunately, the rest of the hotel was a major disappointment. Pictures of the beautiful pool in such a tranquil Tuscan setting may be a major selling point for those seeking a romantic getaway, but if you’re expecting to spend relaxing afternoons lounging by the poolside, you will be disappointed. The pool was overrun with (very loud) families during the day, and it closes at 7:30 pm. (Why?) The pool bar carries many types of liquor, but we were told that they do not stock any juices. (Again, why?) So much for a nice, juicy libation while enjoying the sunshine. Most of the hotel staff seemed to be under 25, and nothing was staffed after 11pm or so. If you have a problem at night, good luck. The walls were thin, the noise starts early, and everything costs extra. They even had the gall to charge a fee for an extra towel at the pool! If you’re looking for a cheap (quality, not price) family hotel, this might be the place for you. If you’re looking for a romantic time in Tuscany, however, you should probably look elsewhere.