Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was nice except I wish they provided blankets instead of only sheets. The A.C. was nice and cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

100m away from what they call a beach

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: clean and spacious
Cons: open up the stairs for normal heighted people
Location: Chinese run hotel with a small chinese supermarket 10 metres away and plenty of restaurants and excursion agents within 100m
Caye Caulker is a small friendly island, hotel is 1 block in from the coast which in Caye Caulker terms is 100 metres. Hotel is clean, with basic resources, not Avg height friendly if your 6'2 then expect to wear a crash helmet for every floor you decend as the floors overhang the stairs. at one point we lost water supply and the hotel staff just appoligised and left it at that. Perhaps its just island life. Hotel is also situated right outside a noisy power plant generating the island electrcity the room i had was a twin double with aircon and fan and excellent picturesque views of next doors building and a washing line full of peoples pants. hotel has a roof terrace with a few tables and chairs if you have a big party. Large beds but on wheels on a tiled floor so i would wake up rolling across the floor (Bring Aircraft Chocs a must!) they give you a 500ml water bottle you can refil from their water cooler behind the reception desk
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Terrible hotel; beach is a distance walk

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing!
Cons: Demolish the building and start new.
Location: We saw swimming at the split and someone wind surfing. Everything else is off the caye at least about 90 traveling.
Barebones hotel; bed & shower; no refrigerator, no coffee fixings of any kind in room. My sister and I were traveling together. There was one chair in the room and no closet. Coffee fixings was on the 1st floor with the manager. When I went to help myself, the biggest cockroach was crawling across the floor; I whimpered and the manager came around the desk; the cockroach crawled out from under the coffee fixing and he stumped on it and kicked it outside the door. Needless to say I didn't avail myself of any coffee fixings. It was too late at night to leave but my sister and I exited off the Caye the next morning!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

caye caulker is not a place to swim.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Horrible. Booked for 4 nights only stayed one. Hope when I get to the USA I'll see of am chafed for 4. It will be holy hell.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Great Value - Clean but Old Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was a great value for us to use for a couple of days. The hotel is dated and the bath fixtures, for example, need renovated, but the for the price this was easy to overlook. The A/C worked great, the room was clean, had a safe, and was quiet. I would recommend for value conscious travelers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
The air conditioner works perfectly. This is a big plus when it is really hot. It is an ok hotel, but for island standards I would say it is a good hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New york

Nice Hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: I liked the convenience to shopping, restaurants, and the beach.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms may be improved. Also an improvement in customer service may improved regarding the assigning of rooms to prevent duplication
Hotel is comfortable, and close to the beach. Cleanliness,especially the bath and shower were not up to expectations. Staff is pleasant, however, the manager assigned our room to other guests which presented an embarrassing and awkward situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very nice, helpful staff; and within the context of Caye Caulker, a generally nice option. Reasonably priced, well located.
Spent thee nights on the island, at the Plaza. Nice experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little noisy.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: It was clean and the hotel staff was nice.
Cons: Better quality doors and windows.
Location: In the center of the island. But no beach access attached to the property.
It was a good hotel for the price. It was a little loud with the electricity generators for the island just down the street. The hotel doesn't have good sound insulation for the windows and doors so you can hear everything down the hall and in the street. At least the generator noise was constant so I was able to go to sleep easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean, very comfortable, modern, close to beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
You can pay less on Caye Caulker, and you can do so and be directly on the beach. But I was travelling with my daughter and the Plaza hotel is very safe, clean, great bathrooms, great wifi, and I was happy with our choice.