Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny

All suite hotel near the beach

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The staff here were all fabulous and very helpful.
Cons: Because it was a slower time when we were there, the restaurant was not open for breakfast everyday. Some nights dinner was only served at pool bar.
Location: This hotel is not on the beach. If you are looking for a dive vacation, you may want to stay closer to the water and get a dive package.
The hotel facilities were great for our family. We had the two room suite with a kitchenette which made cooking breakfast for ourselves easy. The beds were super comfortable and the rooms were nicely decorated. The wifi internet was free with the room and worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LU from Grand Junction

Good value

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Room quality, wifi, food, staff-- all very good!
Cons: Badly need to put a clothesline in the bathroom for wet suits.
Location: Small island with few people. Interesting hikes, bird watching, snorkeling was fabulous!
The Alexander has complete modern amenities, including good wifi, in this fairly remote location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We found the food to be of very good quality, and surprisingly inexpensive for Cayman. The inner courtyard with pool and bar are quite pleasant, but the hotel is not directly on the beach. We were out during the day exploring and snorkeling from different public beaches so that didn't matter to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by homer from springfield

Nice hotel.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
The hotel is really nice and has everything for amenities. Staff are wonderful. The access to hotel is a long winding road with a lot of speed bumps but not a big problem. Rent a car or use the free shuttle. Very nice home base when exploring the island
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy & Sharon

Very relaxing hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Very friendly and welcoming hotel. The staff could not do enough to help you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Feb 4, 2014
salt water lake in back smells, the lighting is dim in the rooms, the table in the rooms only have two chairs, the continental breakfast only has juice, bread/toast, milk, coffee, and jelly -- that's it! THE WONDERFUL STAFF IS THE STRONGEST ASPECT THE HOTEL HAS GOING FOR IT! The hotel was comfortable, clean, friendly, and nice looking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Celina from Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Modern, comfortable hotel!

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The spaciousness of the room with the kitchenette.
Cons: A vending soda machine should be installed.
Location: The beach is within walking distance.
Pleasant experience at a new, modern, clean hotel. The pillows and bedding were so comfortable! The only slight drawback was the absence of a soda/juice vending machine for after hour refreshment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with nice staff

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Very good value for price.
Cons: Need more chairs by the pool.
Location: We went SCUBA diving and fishing and found the location very convenient.
We stayed for 7 nights and had a very comfortable and enjoyable time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - odd location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
The Alexander was a very relaxing place to stay. The service was excellent and the food (given the limitations of being on an island where everything is imported) was very good. The only problem was the hotel's location. It is not within an easy walk of a decent beach (note that there are not really many decent beaches on the island as they are mostly all coral) and it was near a marsh which smelled, well, marshy. They have plans to dig a channel from the marsh to the ocean to create a safe harbor for boats. If that happens, it may help with the smell. In any case, we went to the island to dive, not to sit on the beach, and the Alexander with its two bedroom suites complete with kitchens was just fine for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay, better management would help.

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: The rest off the staff is great. Issa the bartender is the best. The property is neat and clean, it's close to the water.
Cons: The manager. Make the lobby less sterile and more represenative of the island. Warn folks what is open and closed. Did I mention the manager!
When we arrived with our Expedia confirmation in hand, we were told we had no reservation. In a panic the wife called for her husband who was at the bar. With a less than genuine greeting we were again asked if we had a confirmation. My confirmation was on the counter and I pointed to it once again. We were never rude or made a fuse. Finally after a protracted deliberation on the manager’s part he gave us a room and more fake syrupy apologies and excuses. He sent us to the bar for a free drink and also put us in one of the two suites with a nice bottle of wine. This was all fine by us even though we were told we would have to move to a regular room the last two nights. No big deal we travel light. Being a tiny hotel we ran into Tim the manager many times and told him thank you for the suite, drink at the bar and the wine. This should have ended the issue, but no such luck. We received a call the afternoon of our last night from Tim telling us in a very angry voice to come down to the lobby and check out. I asked why and was told our reservation was over. I told him we had one more night. He sort of changed his tone and gave the same fake apology as before. Five minutes later he called back to say he need the suite we were in and I reminded him that two days before he said we should just enjoy the room we were in. I also reminded him that he initially told us the move would be the day before. I mention here that we saw this man many times a day at his 32 room property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013