Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

What a Treat!

Posted Jul 30, 2017
This hotel is a gem. The location is perfect, across the road from the beach and close to shops and restaurants. It is clean and quiet. But it is the staff that makes it even more special. From Hannah who checked us in, to Susie who showed us to our room and prepared and the hosted the appetisers and drinks. Susie is such an asset with her friendly, warm personality. It was lovely chatting with her and the food she prepared was excellent. The breakfast was incredible, what a treat to wake up to. Margaret is lovely and prepared the most delicious breakfast whilst being friendly and warm. This hotel was a real find on our Pacific Coast Highway Road trip. Our only regret is that we didn't haven enough time to stay another couple of nights.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Wonderful!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Loved this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Wonderful B & B

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Orbitz
This bed and breakfast was a fantastic find. Rooms are large and comfortable - the bed is one of the best I've slept in! Our little balcony overlooked the pier and ocean. We kept the slider open at night and slept to the sound of the waves all night long! The staff is great, especially Maureen and Susie, who make the breakfast, happy hour /social hour treats, and evening desserts. These ladies truly take pride in the dishes they create and take personal interest in your experiences eating with them. And the food is excellent! Quant little town that is quiet and relaxing, and easy driving to other points of interest as well. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your response! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Susie and Maureen are awesome! We will let them know you were impressed with their service and creations. We hope to have you back soon!
5 out of 5
by Curtis

Excellent stay

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time at On the Beach in Cayucos!! Very clean, great location, and excellent service. We will definitely be staying here in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017
Hello Curtis, Thank you so much for your kind comments! We're delighted to hear you had a great time. We'll be sure to let all of the On the Beach team know you appreciated their hospitality. We look forward to having you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Best in Cayucos!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, excellent friendly staff members felt like family.
Cons: Stay longer.
Location: The beach, Smoked fish taco stand nearby, cookie store, surf stores, restaurants nearby are nice
Forgot what I even booked, walked in very tired from a long drive and greeted by Suzie, very friendly awesome gal who baked treats for us and reminded me I was in a bed an bed and breakfast! Wine tasting at 5pm saw more home made treats that tasted excellent. Shown the room and it felt like we entered a dream... where the sliding doors opened to the balcony and beach steps away. Awesome view. In the morning treated to a delicious breakfast of home done quiche that went very well with the baked oatmeal and fruit. Thank you, we will be back. And next time for way longer. 5/5
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Hi there, Anthony! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review! We are so pleased to hear that you felt you were walking into a dream when you entered your room. We will let Susie know you loved her exceptional hospitality. We are also fans of the nearby Smokehouse and Brown Butter Cookie Company that you mentioned in the location section. We can't wait to pamper you with more delicious breakfast and appetizer items upon your return! See you next time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Furniture was a little tired. The support in the chairs in front of the fireplace was completely gone... like sitting in a hole. Overall, great location, very friendly and efficient staff. Good size room. Bed was very comfortable, pillows, not so much. We would go back for sure. Cass House across the street had great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of re-upholstering all the chairs in the rooms. So far half of the process has been completed. We are also in the process of redesigning most of our units to match the new carpet and beds we have installed over the last year. Thank you staying with us. We will inform the staff that their efforts were appreciated. We hope to see you again soon
2 out of 5
by David

Cynthia Ruins Weekend Getaway Due To Rudeness

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
It's unfortunate that one person can ruin the reputation of a business. For me it was Cynthia at this Bed and Breakfast. She was extremely rude in every way starting from leaving me a voice mail telling me she leaves at 8 PM and needed us to check in to not working with Hotels.com on a room that was already paid for telling them "I don't have time for this". She demanded another credit card and was very frustrated as we appeared to be delaying her as we tried to resolve the payment for the room that was book 3-4 weeks earlier. For that reason alone not only will we NEVER stay at this location but we will definitely deter any of our friends and family from going to this location. We will also make it a point to provide negative reviews on any and all social media networks we have access to to make sure the owners of this business understand that this one person provided a negative atmosphere for a weekend in which all we wanted to do was relax and decompress. Feeling uneasy to ask for anything during the visit is not what we paid the large sums of money for. Customer service DOES NOT EXIST here, even if it perception of one person for the entire place at the end of the day it becomes the reality for this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you for your review. As mentioned over other review platforms and in phone calls with you, we do apologize for your inconveniences. As far as policies, we never collect payment from hotels.com or expedia.com guests until they check, when we require a credit card and a valid ID for the protection of our guests. We reconcile our reservation records every day. We are again sorry you felt mistreated and wish you would have talked to a manager, so we could try and remedy the situation while lodging here. Thank you again for your review and sincere apologies for your inconvenience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Very nice rooms. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Visited Hearst Castle. Had a great stay at this b&b.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

A golden nugget of a hotel. 🐬

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Everything -- from the spacious room, beds and pillows, friendly staff, and the scrumptious food. Staying here was a pleasant experience.
Cons: Only the rainy weather. 😜
Location: The location was part of the charm of this hotel being located on the beach and downtown Cayucos. Ideal location.
Our daughter and husband stayed here previously and raved about the experience. Now we understand why. Our room was freely upgraded to a second story ocean view that totally enhanced the experience. The room was large, well furnished, and CLEAN. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The staff was warm and friendly. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. The evening hors d'oeuvres and wine were simply a preamble to the freshly baked desert provided later in the evening. To say we were pampered and spoiled is an understatement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Lovely hotel with view of the beach

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Strong wifi, beautiful view, awesome breakfast.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Cayucos is quite small, there is a smoked taco around the corner which I really wanted to try but there was no time unfortunately.
We stayed on the ground floor and arrived close to 8pm, which is when the counter staff leave for the day. She was very glad to see us and gave us a friendly welcome! Room was big and had view of the ocean.