Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice Hotel BUT...

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Hotel facilities are excellent clean, hotel staff are pleasant but it would be nice to inform their guests right after they've checked-in about the hotel aminities & its locations such as swimming pool, gym, penthouse bar, etc... hotel security is great. Buffet food can use some improvements. I've stayed here for 10 days. While checking in, I've asked to extend my stay for one day & the front desk had put me on the wait list & indicated to advise me either way after 3 days. No one called & I assumed everything was okay. The night before check out, I received a call to remind me that I was to check out the next day. I pleaded & begged to extend my stay for one day. I was told they would call in the morning (check out day) but no call. To make long story short, I called the front desk & told them I've made reservation somewhere else. It's too bad I've been a loyal customer. A few selected guests will be invited to the so-called "Soiree" to get to know more about their invited guests at this cocktail party. It was uncomfortable as I was asked very personal questions. I've realized what it was about & left. I did not appreciate that at all. There are other ways to promote their hotel but imposing should not be one of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Love this Hotel!

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Excellent staff and service, Beautiful pool. Very nice rooms with comfy beds. Great breakfast buffet.
This is our 4th stay at this Hotel. We stayed there for about 12 days from late May to first week of June. If you want a taste of luxury at an affordable price then this is the Hotel to stay at while in Cebu City. We absolutely love the staff there. They all hard working, super polite, super friendly, and always helpful. They were always so kind to us and sweet to our 6 month old daughter Andreya. We want to say a special thanks to our favorite Breakfast buffet host Claire. Amazing service and all the buffet staff do a great job. A great way to start our day. My wife also loved the Salon staff. We forgot their names but it was a young man and woman. My wife loved their sense of humor and playfulness with each other. She had her hair bonded and they made it and enjoyable experience. We also loved the door staff. See you again next year Marco Polo staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Dean, Words do not suffice to express how grateful we are for your review. Your words of encouragement make us feel proud of what we do. We will pass on your praises to the team with special mention to Claire of Cafe Marco and Greg and Rowena from the Salon. Nothing would give us greater pleasure than to welcoming you back and continuing where we left off …. to pamper you anew. Warmest regards.
4 out of 5
by Fred from Valencia, NegrosOriental

Will return

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Impeccable service. only downer is the deposit. If you use your card, it takes a month to refund your money. Cash, they forget to to unlock things you can do, such as local calls. Local calls are not free by the way. I would expect free calls from a 4 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Dear Fred, We are so grateful for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, as our guests’ comfort and convenience are foremost in our minds. With regards to the deposit, we send out the request to the issuing bank to cancel the pre-authorization amount that was held on your card immediately upon check out. It usually takes 1-2 weeks for local banks and 3-4 weeks for international banks to release the amount. Local calls are charged P20 per call regardless of how long the conversation over the phone is. International calls however have corresponding charges depending on the country you are calling. Until next time, Brian Connelly General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Hospitable staff and excellent service!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The staff really knows how to take care of their guests. They are very professional and accommodating.
Cons: Their bathrooms need upgrades.
Location: The location is great, just hate the traffic! :(
When I'm in Cebu, I always book my room at Marco Polo, wheater for my business or personal purpose. I personally love the way the staff treats me and my quests. Very hospitable which is a trait of a true Filipino. This recent trip to Cebu was with my family. The day we checked out from Marco Polo to start our island hopping tour, the staff of Marco Polo offered to keep our extra luggage so we can travel light and more comfortable with our island hopping. Without any extra charges. They know how to look after their quests. Excellent service!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for your generous review about the hotel. We are very happy that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us. Your lovely comments about our associates' warm hospitality are truly appreciated and it was certainly our pleasure to be looking after you. Nothing would give us greater pleasure than to welcoming you back and continuing where we left off …. to pamper you anew. Sincerely, Brian Connelly General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of city and mountains

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Amazing views of the city on one side and views of the mountains on the other.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by brian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu! Thank you for taking time to write this stay experience review. We are glad that you find our 360 degrees view 'amazing'. Indeed, our location is actually one of our best selling points not only because of the view it provides but also because it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city below. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers to your travels and endeavors ! Sincerely, Brian Connelly General Manager
5 out of 5
by Paul

Best Hotel in Cebu

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Im very Happy with this Hotel,I order a Double room with two twin bed,they dont have a Twin bedroom,but they offert me a Extra Bed for our Son for free! It was very good. The Service was very good and the Personal very friendly and helpful. Thank you,I will come again in this nice Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Dear Paul, Everyone is so nice because we have the best guests! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are ecstatic to know that we will see you again as nothing would give us greater pleasure than to welcoming you and the family back and continuing where we left off …. to pamper you anew. Sincerely, Brian Connelly General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfy

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We will definitely come back. I will recommend this hotel to my foreigner friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by brian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are happy to hear that you most definitely will come back and recommending our hotel to your friends! Nothing would give us greater pleasure than to welcoming you back (with your friends) and continuing where we left off …. to pamper you anew. Hope to see you back soon, Brian Connelly General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice ambiance and peaceful

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Good selection of food for breakfast and not too crowded and still peaceful and quite if you want that for a vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by brian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write this stay experience review. We are glad that you are satisfied with our buffet breakfast spread and have enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere our property's location provides. We do hope that on your next vacation, you will choose to stay with us again. Cheers to your travels and endeavors! Sincerely, Brian Connelly General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Suppose to be a suite room which cost more than the suite I stayed at Shangri La Taguig . TV had to call maintenance at least every time I turn it on . Bath room sink faucet water pressure is terribly weak , had to call maintenance and nothing he can do . I decided to leave the third day , I booked for seven days, I asked for a refund , they told me to ask Expedia. I was extremely disappointed and never again . Certainly will not recommend to friends here. In Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by brian, Hotel Management
Dear Chito, I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I would invite you to contact me personally at email brian.connelly@marcopolohotels.com to discuss this with you further. Regards, Brian Connelly
5 out of 5
by jon

Good job Raymond for making our stay comfortable

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was amazing especially when it came to assisting us in finding other island accomodations and tour guides. Their professional and courteous mannerism was outstanding! Raymond Bontiad went above and beyond daily to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable which will be the reason we return and highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Dear jon, Thank you so much for sharing this amazing review about us. Recognition from our guests goes a long way in encouraging our dedicated associates to continue striving for excellence in customer satisfaction. Your generous compliments are truly delightful and have been relayed to our team, especially to Raymond. Nothing would give us greater pleasure than to welcoming you back and continuing where we left off …. to pamper you anew. Sincerely, Brian Connelly General Manager