Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booked late in day for the night

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great hotel for short stay. I was visiting several parks in the area and booked when I decided to stay over
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandy, UT

Nice hotel, close to Shakespeare theaters

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Room was unexpectedly quiet, close to Shakespeare theaters and restaurants (walking distance), and provided nearby ice and vending on premises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandy, UT

Close to the theater venues

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
I came for the Shakespeare festival. The hotel was in the best possible location for walking to those venues as well as to restaurants. The breakfast was more than adequate and had many choices. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and very clean. We also noticed how quiet it was - we were in room 165.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heber, UT

We stayed 1 night for a high school sporting event

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was nice
Location: It is walking distance to a supermarket and several restaurants
The hotel was clean but didn't have frills however I wasn't expecting any. The rooms are small but were comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: remodel
Location: great pizza place within waking distance
hotel was old and needs to be remodeled...rooms were dark, small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington, UT

Walking distance to most things

Posted Aug 24, 2017
My stay was great! I was able to park my car at the hotel and walk for most of my stay. You can easily walk to great restaurants, such as Pastry Pub, Centro Pizza, Brick House Cafe, and more. Of course, it is a nice short walk to all Utah Shakespeare Festival facilities and events. I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice, clean older place

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Made the reservation at this hotel on a Thursday morning for a Friday stay. Had no idea what to expect but was hopeful based on reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. Clean, fairly priced, nice welcome at the front desk, very nice mattress. It is an older facility so the a/c was a bit loud and there was no tub (looked like the tub had been removed at some point and the floor was tiled to accommodate only a shower). Breakfast was average but the staff is happy and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alamogordo, NM

Great Place to Stay Close to Festivals

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Cons: Include a mini-fridge in the rooms.
Location: There are national parks nearby, wonderful theatre, and the town has a variety of good restaurants.
This motel is THE place to stay if you want to walk to/from the Utah Shakespeare Festival and/or the Neil Simon Festival. I parked my car by my room, and never moved it for the duration of my stay because everything was within close and safe walking distance. The breakfast buffets were good, the amenities more than adequate, and the cleanliness was excellent. The mattress on the bed was comfortable and afforded me good night's of sleep, and the Brick House restaurant next door is a great place to eat. When I return to Cedar City to take in another festival, I will stay at the El Rey Inn. The only thing my room did not have that I would have found useful was a mini-fridge, but other than that, this motel gets my vote for where to stay when you want to see some excellent theatre. Many thanks to everyone who made my visit so comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Upgraded hotel with small town feel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Our room in this older hotel was upgraded and very comfortable. We had 1 queen bed that was very comfortable and had very nice linens.The bathroom was upgraded and had just the amenities we needed- a shower instead of a bathtub, modern soap, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers, and an attached hair dryer. The sink counter was a bit higher but had an open shelf below that was very useful to store personal items. The room also had a large closet-great if you're going to stay several days. The pool area was small but fine with the families we saw using it. Right next door to this property is a shaved ice "shack" with a large grassy area with tables and chairs. Very nice to hang out there in the evening and see the sun reflected on the red hill. On the main street with restaurants, bookstores, and shops nearby. Can walk to the Beverly Center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Staff was very helpful & friendly. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was Good. This was a last minute stay for my daughter's softball tournament. It suited our needs just fine.