Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Perfect location for the festival

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Everything closed at 10:00pm. Nothing open, could not find any place open to eat. The hotel does not have room service.
Location: Close to festival and a restaurant ( if it's open and or had enough help)
Great staff and very large rooms. Hard to find anything to eat, nothing open past 10:00pm (Saturday night). Almost everything closed on Sunday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

OLD MOTEL, CLEAN & QUIET w/ COMFY BEDS, NICE STAFF

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Quiet. CLEAN. Comfy beds. Awesome staff, personalized & caring service! Walk easily to SUU Shakespeare Festival.
Cons: Breakfast could be higher quality. Rate more competitive (this OLD Motel was same rate as 2 NEW chain Hotels -chose El Rey b/c could walk to SUU).
Location: Walking distance to SUU Shakespeare Festival. A busy area of town, but still quiet (though not scenic).
Some of nicest staff I've interacted w/ at a motel - friendly, professional. Happily switched us to upstairs room after I entered our downstairs room & didn't care for it's location. Genuinely interested in serving us w/ ea request. Rooms CLEAN & QUIET, beds EXTRA comfy. Updates like pillow-top mattresses, granite-like bathroom counter top, mini fridge-freezer combo, & these cool built-in shampoo/conditioner dispensers in shower, & liquid soap/lotion dispenser by bathroom sink. No more slimy bar soap, yay! But even w/ all the remodeling, it still felt older & outdated, & therefore over-priced. Dim-lighting, & lightswitches in odd places (bathroom lightswitch is OUTSIDE bathroom door); one lamp didn't work at all & neither did the phone, so we couldn't quickly contact front desk to request sheets for pull-out bed; bedroom door too big for door frame, so we couldn't close it all the way; sink/mirror is in bathroom instead of having a separate vanity area, so harder to all get ready in morning (but a full-length mirror in main area helps). Breakfast was OK: waffles (batter not as good as other places we've been & only syrup to go on top); sausage gravy (flavor just ok) & biscuits (didn't taste super fresh); yogurt; fresh hard boiled eggs (you peel); fruit (apple/orange/banana); oatmeal, cold cereal, milk, juice, minimal variety of bagels/bread/muffins. Balcony area w/ tables outside suite rooms, but not a scenic view (parking lot & powerlines). Pool EXTREMELY small. Wifi good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Closest to Shakespeare Festival and downtown Cedar

Posted Aug 14, 2016
An easy 2 block walk (6 min door to door) to brand new Sorenson Center that contains the new (replacement) open roof Engelstad Shakespeare, the roughly 30 year old indoor Randall Jones and new indoor "black box" Anes studio theaters as well as a museum of art. Just walk west along Shakespeare Lane (College Avenue). Entrance is on Main Street, so close to City administration, modern shopping, old fashioned barber shops, bike rental, etc. Am a very light sleeper so next time I'll get a room closer to the swimming pool and away from road noise!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, in the heart of Cedar City

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Great hotel, nice room and very friendly staff. Breakfast was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MT.

Decent motel.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
To be honest, I was disappointed after reading the rave reviews about this hotel. Especially the breakfast!! Thought it was very very a average, and that's being nice! No fresh eggs or bacon, no fresh fruit. Sorry, but biscuits and gravy does not a great breakfast make! The room is tiny, and I was gauged on the price booking online. Was told it was 50% cheaper had I just showed up! If they don't offer some sort of refund, will never consider going back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cologne

Super Ausgangslage

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Auf dem Weg zum Cedar Breaks oder Bryce Canyon ist das Hotel eine gute Ausgangslage. Restaurant, fastfood Ketten sowie Walmart ganz in der Nähe. Die Zimmer sind ziemlich okay. Alles da außer einem Kühlschrank. Mitarbeiter sehr freundlich und Frühstück ist auch gut. An alle Deutschen: ihr seid nicht zuhause und könnt nun mal auch kein Frühstück wie Zuhause erwarten. das ist so in der Art wie bei uns in USA einfach nicht üblich. Seid froh wenn es mehr wie Kaffee und Muffins gibt;)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Jordan, UT

Much, much improved over earlier years.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Closeness to the Shakespeare Festival.
Cons: This motel is has been refurbished and it's much, much better now. I stopped staying here for several years but this one was better and I'd go back.
Location: Since I came here especially to go to the Shakespeare Festival, it was perfect.
Best place to stay during the Shakespeare Festival since it's just a short comfortable stroll to the Sorensen Center. I will come back now that it's been updated somewhat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Great location for Shakespearean festival. I'd definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ks

In a good location for canyon lands

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Stayed here for a few days. It was centrally located so we could visit all canyons and parks in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Meridian, ID

Comfortable and roomy

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms Comfortable beds
Cons: More AC vents (room only had one vent at the far side of the room) Protein option for breakfast Vent in the bathroom Larger bathroom
Location: Centrally located in the downtown area Shady park across the way Lots of restaurants and fast food eateries
My husband, three children, and I stayed at this hotel on our way home from a vacation out of state. Although we arrived late, the hotel kept our room for us, unlike another big name chain we stayed at a month earlier. The night clerk was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and spacious. We had three queen beds with one of the queens separated by a partial wall which extended a little past the end of the beds. Each side of the room had its own TV so the kids could watch cartoons on their side while my husband and I got to see the news on ours. The kids' side was kept dark enough for them to sleep so my husband and I could continue to watch TV and stay up to read. The bathroom was a little small and had no vent, but we managed just fine. Breakfast was sausage and biscuits and a good variety of other carb options. We would have liked to have a protein option added such as eggs and breakfast meat. Other than that, it was a comfortable stay which allowed us to recharge our batteries.