Ratings based on 770 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Just tear it down and rebuild a new one

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Just tear it down and build a modern one with assigned parking spaces.
Location: Iowa City is a university town. I was there to look for a house to buy. Lots of outdoor activities to do in that area.
Everything in this hotel is old and a lot of things are broken, like the door safety latch. The parking lot was very full, some cars took up 2 spaces. I booked for 4 nights but the place did not look like the picture on the internet and I wanted to cancel the following 3 nights. The hotel staff was clueless about how I could do that. I called Expedia and they helped me resolve it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great price, free hot breakfast

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The price, the breakfast
Cons: Cleaning, sanitation of bathroom floor. Repairs to elevator, carpet, pool.
Location: Close to town, perfect for U of I hospital patients. They have transportation to hospital.
We only paid $51 for 2 queen beds !!!! Big room, Large TV screen, frig, coffee maker, iron, blow dryer. Quite flush, thick walls, did NOT wake up my room mate when using the bathroom in the middle of the night. Hot breakfast. sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy. The room was sanitary, but there was some dirt in the corner of the bathroom floor, and a slight smell around the toilet floor. Hallway carpet needs repair, elevator acting up. Advertised a pool, but no pool. Not a 5 star resort. But FANTASTIC deal for this price. Very HAPPY we stayed there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kewanee, IL

Nice Hotel for a layover

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Just what I needed after a long day and evening driving. Comfortable bed, great pillows and nice clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Very comfortable. Great staff and people who were also visiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Upon checking in, found out the pool was down, not happy to find that out....and people need to learn how to park, at least a dozen people parked in between 2 spaces...and expedia over booked our room, so didn't get the room we wanted....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice Hotel Currently being remodeled

Posted Apr 6, 2017
I chose this hotel because of the price and location. My husband had early morning appointments at the University Hospital and Clinics so we wanted somewhere convenient. The hotel is in a great location with easy access. Its located right behind a convenience store ans within walking distance to a few restaurants. The hotel is nice but is currently being remodeled so the hallways are dusty and missing decor and that homey feeling but I am positive when the remodel is complete it will have that feeling and more! The lobby area is very nice and continental breakfast was good with lots of options and the sitting are was comfortable and spacious with room to get around. The staff were friendly, professional and kind and compassionate from the beginning of our stay to the end. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable, good lighting, TV was big so everyone could see it lol, fridge ans microwave worked good, bathrooms are on the small side and feel crowded but sink is located outside of bathroom so it wasn't to bad. I think the only disappointment I had called earlier that day to verify my reservation and change to my room to 2 queens because my son coming along with and was excited they had a pool! Well it wasn't until we got there and got all checked in and headed up to our room that we noticed a note near the elevator apologizing that the pool was closed down for the week do to remodeling of the hallway that lead to the pool area! Simple just be honest!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The very sharp breakfast area.
Cons: Softer towels and a bath mat to step on when getting out of the shower.
Location: There are lots of restaurants close by and Coral Ridge Mall is very easy to get to. Easy to get to the University of Iowa Hospital and the Campus.
The hotel was going through some refreshing but that was not a problem. The breakfast area was very nice, light and airy. It was apparent that my room was wheel chair accessible, with all of the light switches at a much lower level that normal. Took a little getting use to, but it wasn't a problem. I found it strange that they would give me a wheel chair accessible room when one wasn't requested. The one outlet that one of the bedside lamps was plugged into did not work. During check out they were informed of this. The reply was they already knew about the issue. Overall the room was very comfortable. The bath towels could have been softer and fluffier, they were on the stiff side. There wasn't a bath mat to step onto when getting out of the shower and I found the tile floor to be very slippery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Hopefully it was under renovation because it looked terrible and their idea of air freshener smelled like someone took a can of axe around the room until the bottle was empty. Oh and make sure to latch your door because "housekeeping" will let themselves in without saying anything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The front desk called at 1am to have me come down to the desk to run my credit card again. The mattress was horrible ! Will never stay there again or recommend it:(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to facilities

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Nice rooms, just a little small with no chairs to relax. Good variety of breakfast items. Had to heat up food in microwave so it would be hot. Clean and good beds.