Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Hot

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We had a heard adjusting the temperature in the room. It was either really hot or really cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Convenient and basically well run- staff helpfulness uneven.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great meal service and selection of food and beverage. Wonderful shuttle service to University of Iowa hospital. Very friendly hotel staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Coralville Baymont Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: The management seemed to be very very cheap. No heat on December 15th in Iowa is obscene. Having no sheets on the sofa sleeper is disgusting.
My wife and I have stayed at the Baymont Hotel in Coralville previously when our daughter attended the University of Iowa. Four years ago, this hotel had a fantastic staff and the service was outstanding. We book a two night stay at this same hotel expecting the same high quality service and we were sorely disappointed. Upon check in, I had to wait for the office attendant to finish a personal phone call before she checked us into our room. While she was checking us in, the phone rang again and I asked her to finish checking us in before she answered the phone. Upon entering the room, it was obvious that the heater was turned off--this was December 15th in Iowa! We stayed in a King Suite with a sleeper sofa as a second bed. In opening the sleeper sofa, there were no sheets on the bed. I discovered this at about 11:00 pm. I called the front desk and the phone rang about 15 times so I hung up. I decided to phone again (by this time it was 11:30 pm) and finally someone answered. He asked me to come to the front desk so he could give me sheets so I could make my own bed....yes, I had to make my own bed. After getting the sheets and returning upstairs, the sheets he gave me for the sofa sleeper were all over-sized. He gave me king sheets for a sofa sleeper! The blanket he gave me had cigarette burn holes in it. It was a lousy night sleep. Our room was NOT Cleaned the second day. I will never return to this hotel. EVER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Just needed for a night

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to. Good location. Fair price. Staff was friendly.
Cons: I think if the doors are jamming/not latching often, they need to be replaced!
Location: There is a convenience store near the hotel. Some restaurants are located not to far away. It is close to the university campus.
We just needed an inexpensive room for a night to attend our son's graduation from U of I. We had stayed here before. The room was quite attractive. Looked like it may have been painted recently. We had a problem with our door right away, though. It would not latch when we went to leave for graduation. The handle was jammed or something. We had all of our stuff in there, so we weren't sure what to do. We waited at the desk for our turn, and the girl working acted like this happens all the time. She went to our room and fixed the door, but we were running late then. We question why the doors aren't fixed or updated if they jam/won't latch often! The rest of the stay was fine. The drain "plug" in the sink wouldn't stay up, so it was hard to get the water to drain, but that was minor. It is nice to have a microwave and refrigerator in the room - so that was a plus. Overall, with the exception of the door, it was a fine stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

OK

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Ok, but check out others nearby. Light bulb outage in room. Very slow wifi. Power went our twice in breakfast room as microwave turned on. Etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Bend, United States of America

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Nice location close to Kinnick. Ok hotel clean enough for one night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

ok

Posted Nov 8, 2016
remodeling - has to be done, but it's not a pleasure to be around
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was very nice and friendly!
Cons: It was old. Rooms were freshly painted but bathrooms were very small and in desperate need of updating!
Location: For us the location was fine......we were visiting the University so it was very convenient.
Staff was very nice and friendly. Halls were in need of updating. Bathrooms in rooms REALLY need updating! Temporary breakfast area was dark and not inviting. Cannot rate the breakfast because we didn't eat there because of this fact. Pull out bed had old sheets and blankets on it! Had to call for clean sheets. The day after our first night, the beds were made but the bathroom was not cleaned at all and there were no towels for us to shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so hotel in Iowa City

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was good
Cons: The beds were soft and lumpy
Location: I enjoyed the running trail (and bike trail) right behind the hotel. I accidentally found it as I was running on the street.
This was our first time staying with Baymont Inn and our experience is mixed. First the hotel is a bit hard to find because it is recessed from the main street. There is only one elevator and it is super slow. The room has decent size but the mattresses need to be replaced. The reception staff was very helpful and courteous.