Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Would NOT recommend this hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The room was fine but a bad experience overshadowed the visit.
Cons: I was visiting my mother at the veterans hospital in town and need a place to spend the night. Someone on the hotel staff stole my credit card information and tried to make purchases a couple days after I left. The hotel did not give me a receipt for my stay. They claimed I would receive one from expedia which I never did. I report the incident to the local authorities.
Location: Location was good for where I needed to be. There was a Mexican restaurant next to the hotel that was really good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Nice place.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: We attended a concert at the new Hancher Auditorium on the University of Iowa campus. What a beautiful venue!
The inn is going to through a remodel and a Best Western rebranding. It is still the Canterbury Inn of years past, just getting an updated feel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 8, 2016
Our smokeless room smelled like smoke-the room they moved us to smelled like mildew. 5 The staff was shoving me out of the way to eat their free breakfast (perks of working here I guess?). Our shower had hair in it, rusted bolts, just gross.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Smells and masking tape and Mexican food

Posted Sep 28, 2016
The hallways smelled like a toilet, there was a lot of masking tape on a surprising number of doors (for whatever reason). When I came in to an empty front desk, I hollered for some assistance and the staff guy made we wait for like 10 minutes while he did something in the back. My shower was leaking loudly - used a white noise app on my phone all night to cover up the sound. Most vending machines were out of order or sold, the ones that worked couldn't give change. Don't stay here - BUT - check out the Mexican spot Casa Azul right next door! It's super good. Only good thing about the stay - ONLY good thing. It's enough to give it 2 stars. However, I have been dumping out nonstop for the last 24 hours so, you know what? Not that good. Don't eat there either. I gave it 1 star in the end.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

In need of renovation

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: I didn't use it, but the pool and the pool area was very large.
Cons: Get rid of pocket doors to the tiny commode/shower room; trying to close the door was impossible without a handle or recessed grip. Also, the air cond
Location: Reasonably close to hospital facilities and shopping.
An aging facility in need of updating and renovation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from green bay wi

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Older motel. Clean rooms but small. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was good. Wouldn't make an effort to stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Not Available

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Cons: Communication
Booked our room through Expedia on 4/29/16 for 9/10/16, checking out on 9/11/16. Itinerary # 7178873578006. We arrived about 10:30 AM and were told that we couldn't check in until 3:00 PM which wasn't a problem. I have my name and said we were attending the Iowa/Iowa State football game and wouldn't be back until after 10:00 PM. I was informed that this wouldn't be a problem as our room was guaranteed. We actually got back to hotel about 7:30 to check in and was informed by the clerk (name was Hardik) that we didn't have a room and should have been contacted a couple weeks ago. They had a flood which damaged some rooms and we were suppose to be informed that we would be moved to another hotel. He didn't know where we were suppose to go since we booked through expedia. So we got back in the car and drove back from Iowa City to Rockford, IL. We got home at 11:00 PM. Not a fun trip at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coralville, ia.

NIce hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Nice breakfast. Good location. KIng suite was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY


Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: More coffee!!
Lights were flickering. Manager came to room and personally solved the problem. Moved us to a suite which was an upgrade for us. Very comfortable .would definitely stay there again. Kudos to Best Western.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
All was good late night check in. Toilet was clogged but that was my only complaint. Nice hotel for the money