Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness, customer service
Wanted hotel with pool/ jacuzzi. Researched hotels online carefully to get all amenities desired. Arrived at hotel to discover pool/ jacuzzi closed. Desk person said in very snotty tone, "It was on our website." I told her it was not when I booked and I was not notified. She looked it up , discovered I was correct, said very snotty, " Oh, you booked before we knew it would be closed." I asked for a discount. She said she would ask her manager and let me know. We were there 3 days (only because it was a prepaid, nonrefundable reservation) and I had to ask her about the refund every day. Finally, at checkout I was given a $30 total discount, hopefully refunded back to my credit card. Hotel cleanliness was also poor. The lobby smelled like mold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Battle Creek, Mi.

Needs renovation.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The hotel was clean but needs to be renovated. Lots of stains in the carpets, worn paint and furnishings. Just old and worn. Pool was down all the time we were their. The staff were nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Overall the room was nice. Although the carpets are a bit tacky. They need to be cleaned.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Nice access to Iowa city. Easy parking. Very nice pool ver good breakfast
5 out of 5
by marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Room not ready

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Price, clean, comfortable, quiet room, excellent lighting in parking lot, clean bathroom, great shower head, water pressure, delicious breakfast!
Cons: Bottom line - Rooms need to be ready at 3pm as advertised.
Location: Convenient to downtown and just off I-80.
Arrived at 3pm check-in time. Needed to be at a wedding in downtown Iowa City at 4:30pm. Upon arrival, found several groups waiting in the lobby area for their rooms to be readied. I was told room not ready, have a seat. I explained that we - 3 people - had to freshen up & change for the wedding. The male staff member could not tell me when the room would be ready. So I explained to him that I would remain in line until the room was ready. He became very agitated, threw a pencil on the desk & left the area. About 10 minutes later the desk phone rang & the female staff member answered, a conversation was held & upon its conclusion, I was checked-in. I don't know what prevented rooms from not being ready at 3 in the afternoon. I don't like to have to be so insistent that I get what I paid for, but it was obvious that sitting & waiting would not have got a room in time to arrive at the wedding on time. It's a shame that experience has soured me on this location - everything else was great - price, clean & comfortable room, quiet, parking lot lighting, bathroom / shower, breakfast & the contact I had with the rest of the staff was super.
5 out of 5
by Jeff from Sheldon,IA

great stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel is a great value for the cost. large pool, and rec center. friendly staff, great breakfast will stay here again if I am in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa city

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was friendly & helpful. Beds were stiff & rooms had a stale smell.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Staff were excellent . Room clean. Love being on the first floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't recommend

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
No pool side bar. Fitness room was poor. Breakfast was decent.