Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Tanya

Fantastic stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, bright, new, and very comfortable!
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
GREAT hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs updating

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful!!! Great customer service.
Cons: The hotel just needs an update. The best area was the breakfast area.
Location: N/A... we didn't leave the hotel
We decided to get a night away in a hotel for our kids for Christmas and chose here because the pool looked like a decent size and we decided to get a suite so we could enjoy some fun family time and we had some friends visit. The room was a great size but the hotel really needs some updating. In our room the beds were lumpy, there wasn't a lot of seating for the size of the room, there was a big hole on the door to the bathroom like someone had kicked it, the toilet paper holder was coming out of the wall, the TV in the big family room was super small so you had to move the furniture up closer to even see it and looking around everything just needs some updating. Our kids had a great time in the pool but the paint was coming off the edges and it was closed for maintenance when we got there for a bit.
5 out of 5
by Debra

Perfect for Families - Great Value

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
My grandkids had so much fun at this hotel before, we went there for our Christmas stay (my present to them). We got the fireplace suite, which made it perfect. I love the two separate areas (kids in one, grownups in the other, and we both had our TVs!), and the suite has so much space so you feel like you are at home. Love the pool and hot tub. Very nice breakfast, well-maintained, lots of varieties and good flavors. Not a "fancy-schmantzy" hotel - this is a comfortable, relaxing and friendly hotel. Love the 24-hour coffee, and the complimentary cookies and newspapers. This is our "go to" hotel when we need a break now. It delivers the best value for your money that I have ever seen!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Disappointed

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Stayed here after flying into Cedar Rapids. Have stayed many times at Comfort Inn and Suites locations. This location seemed like it could potentially have been nice, and had a very nice lobby and breakfast area. However, our room had many issues with cleanliness and security. The deadbolt did not work, and the extra "chain lock" was nearly coming out of the doorframe. The couch also had some questionable stains on it, and there was a dead roach on the floor of the closet. On check out, I mentioned all of these things to the desk clerk, who was very apologetic, but did nothing to offer to compensate us for our visit. The one positive thing is that the breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
BUGS IN THE BATHROOM SPARTAN HOTEL WITH NOT A LICK OF CHARACTER
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Our staff tries hard to ensure all our guests feel welcome and enjoy their time with us. I am sorry we let you down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Room was very used

Posted Nov 24, 2016
There were marks in the walls, there were stains on the bedding. All the furniture had scratch marks in them. The room was set at 80 degrees so you walked into a sauna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Holly Courtney, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. You will be happy to know we will be addressing some of this concerns over the next couple of months. Thank you again. We hope you will give us another try next time you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed in this hotel. I have stayed there when it was the hawthorn inn and it was very nice. It was clearly evident it was somewhat run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We do have some projects scheduled for the upcoming months and do hope you will find them appealing. Thank you again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was fine. The staff was very nice. We found that the hallway was never cleaned while we were there. We know because the same clump of dirt was on the floor from the time we checked in on Thursday night t the time we left on Sunday morning. The carpet was also very stained. Also, there was a pile of stuff by one of the back doors inside that never got cleaned up while we were there. The breakfast every morning was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable weekend

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable room. Perfect for my weekend.