Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Brian from Des Moines Iowa

SERIOUSLY DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed the night here Saturday night and the whole time I was disappointed. The bed was as soft as cinder blocks, the pool was open (at the most random times) and was supposed to be a pool/hot tub combo (as shown in the picture) but there was NO HOT TUB TO BE FOUND!! the ENTIRE hotel smelled of smoke, the staff always treated me as a nuisance from check in to check out. Breakfast ENDS AT 9 AM ON A SUNDAY...good thing no one sleeps in on the weekends....oh wait yeah they do. I will never stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Not thrilled at all

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The bed.
Cons: Cleanliness, good repair of facilities.
Location: Lots of other hotels in the area to chose from - pick one of them next time.
When I first walked in, the gentleman at the front desk greeted me ok, and proceeded with the check in process. While I was there, he got a phone call and he took it. It was obviously not another guest or potential guest, but rather someone who was watching/listening in on our conversation thus far, as he made reference to what we had already discussed. I felt "watched". The room was ok, but definitely not thrilling. A rather old dresser sat underneath the wall mounted TV, the sitting area what not straightened (table in front of couch was pushed off to one side at an angle). Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was small, and the door couldn't even be opened all the way due to the curved shower rod. There was no "guest book" outlining when the continental breakfast was available, when the pool was open, etc. The breakfast the next morning was a major disappointment; bagels, muffins, waffles, or cereal.No juice, even. And the whole lobby/breakfast room area had a distinct smell of smoke. The paper for writing at the desk in the room hand-ripped, cutting off some kind of letterhead at the top. Very tacky.I was going to use the pool, but the lift didn't work for my wife (she can't handle a ladder at the side), and when I looked at the pool itself, the bottom and sides looked disgustingly dirty. We won't be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When you just need a room

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
We just needed a place to stay while visiting family. The location was fine and the room serviceable. It's certainly not an upscale place but served our purposes just fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
I always stay at this hotel and the staff is always friendly. They have done a lot of renovations and it's looking great. I will continue to stay here every time I visit my family in Cedar Rapids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Superior, WI

Decent place to stay

Posted May 18, 2015
After I booked this room, I read some reviews that weren't very favorable, so I was concerned about what I would find when I got there. The room was clean. The hallway had a slight smell of cigarette smoke, but it was minor. The bathroom could use some updating, but, again, it was clean. The main complaint by others was the breakfast. There isn't much. If you're good with coffee, a muffin or a dish of cold cereal, you'll be fine. Otherwise, go across the street to Perkins.
2 out of 5
by jean from iowa

unhappy!!!!

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
the room had cobwebs in the corner...they had been there for a long time...there was three of them...in the bathroom the tile that was supposed to be on the wall was on the floor and the insulation was coming out of the wall...underneath the sink...the bathroom door was cut so it could open because the toilet was in the way of the door so it was diffacult to get in and out of the bathroom...there was only 2 towels for 3 people...the police were chasing a guy right next to the hotel as well!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Wisconsin

Quaint!

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Room was great staff was great but the pool was closed due to something being broken supposedly. There really was nothing of a breakfast cept like juice and some muffins. The place was clean and close to some stuff. But I was looking for a pool and breakfast. Didn't get to use pool. Got orange juice for breakfast.not much of a deal for 74 bucks. I've stayed at cheaper places with more stuff. Has to be the worst breakfast ever experienced in my life and I've been homeless before.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Recent stay

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: being asked to check out even after having paid extra for late check out
Cons: making sure entrance cleaned better, making sure staff knows if someone is staying later.
Arrived for check in and due to the recent snow, there was snow/ice by the front entrance which was difficult bringing in luggage with luggage cart. I had requested to check out later the next day and did pay extra for this but the next morning a hotel staff member was knocking on my door at 11 telling me I needed to check out. I was sleeping, so this woke me up- I told the staff that I had requested and paid for a little extra time and to talk to manager. Since I was now awake I got ready and left the room within the hour. I do not believe that the hotel was full at all during my visit and also would have liked to have had some type of breakfast, even if minimal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: I thought I could have late check out
Cons: everything I mentioned above could be done differently
Parking lot not cleared of snow/ice by door- hotel had a funny smell, bath soaps/facial soaps way to harsh on face (texture wise), no cups in room. Even though I had asked AND paid for a later check out of 2pm, I was still asked to vacate room at 11 am. I told the housekeeping staff to please go ask manager. Of course the knock on my door woke me up and I then got up, took shower and left earlier than thought. (12:15). No breakfast service, not even coffee in lobby.
2 out of 5
by debbie d from milwaukee wi

good location

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel had posted signs NO SMOKING but the lobby and the hallway had a very strong smell of cigarette smoke. The 2 out of the 3 rooms had bed bugs (with bites). The management did offer to spray pestiside but we certainly did not want to breathe pestiside, that would not kill them anyway. We were there for a wedding and all hotels in Cedar Rapids, Iowa were totally booked (I booked 1 month ahead). If there had not been bed bugs, we would feel a lot different about the situation.