Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Close but not much else

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Close to U of Iowa
Unfamiliar with area, got hotel because of closeness to U of Iowa, but that was the only good thing. Rooms small and HOT! very small bathroom. Breakfast selection ok, coffee was good though. Staff nice. Very overpriced but I'm sure because of football weekend, but I paid less for rooms close to football venues in other cities and they were much nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: could be updated. Carpet throughout were old and worn. More of a place for football weekend stays.
Location: Great location to Campus
Very nice staff. we were there to visit family for the day. So it was a great location. Seems to be a popular place. but definitely could use updating
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Decent Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
We stayed at this hotel for a night while we were in town for a wedding. The room was clean/updated, although the bed wasn't the most comfortable. The bathroom was also clean/updated, but the shower pressure wasn't the greatest. Pool area was mediocre. The continental breakfast and free WiFi were a plus. That all being said, I'd recommend this hotel. I think it was priced right, and it totally works if you're in town for a night or two.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great rate

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Booked online through Expedia, pictures looked good, didn't know what to expect - but impressed with renovation and size of our room for price. Hallway carpet just needs replaced - that's the only negative
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Chicago Guy

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Upgraded to a suite - fireplace and jacuzzi - didn't use either but the room was bigger.
Cons: A little seedy feeling; checkin was efficient, but little small talk. hotel was full/wedding party
Location: go downtown Iowa City, 5-10 minute drive, plenty to do there - restaurants, bars, shopping. U of Iowa has lots of options and close by.
Upgraded to a suite. Front desk didn't even tell me? Hotel is decent/clean. The room had an odd smell, not smoke, not mildew/stale, just something odd but not horrible. Bed was Ok - not a destination hotel, but clean/maintained and pretty close to the University.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rooms were outdated and dark, with small TV

Posted Oct 11, 2016
great location and easy to find. good parking and great staff. rooms were outdated and dark, with small TV
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Great staff. Very helpful. Called to ensure reservation was correct
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cresco, Iowa

dirty and smelly

Posted Sep 16, 2016
just walking up to the room, the hallways and elevators were dirty.. the room smelled there was boxes of empty beer cans by the entry door in the parking lot WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
A bit musty smelling. Tried to slide open the window but the outside glass was out of the track and the screen was bent. Had a big gap for bugs to enter. So couldn't leave the window open. Pillows are too big and hard for my liking. Great location!! Standard motel room. Guess you have to pay more to expect any better conditions.