Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa


Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: The free upgrade was great. Cookies at the desk to welcome us. Free Wi-Fi. Convenient location. Easy check in. Fair price.
Location: We were in town for sporting events. However there's great shopping and many restaurants nearby.
When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised to be informed we had been upgraded to a whirlpool room at no extra charge. Unfortunately, that room was an outside room, meaning it faced the parking lot and was by the stair exit. At around 2:30 am my husband was awakened by a couple arguing outside our window. I fortunately slept through this argument since I had a hard time falling asleep earlier due to lumpy pillows. They seemed drunk so he got up to make sure our door had the dead bolt on in case they came in and tried the wrong door. I woke up at 3:40 to yelling and swearing outside our window. I could see the couple and the fight was escalating so I called the front desk. A young gentleman went out and the couple apologized and came inside. But 30 minutes later the man and some friends were back outside and I could hear clearly their entire conversation. Needless to say, long night with very little sleep. This hotel needs better windows to block out sound.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Chicago

Inexpensive hotel near the U of Iowa campus

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price, reasonable location to the campus, and the biscuits and gravy for breakfast.
Cons: Walls appear to be kind of thin, so I heard noise when I was sleeping in. Also, got a phone call about 6 a.m., probably a misplaced wake up call.
Location: Right at the softball field/track for the U of Iowa, less than 1 mile to the football/basketball stadiums, and less than 2 miles from the main campus.
Check in and out were very efficient. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was adequate (very good biscuits and gravy!), and overall a good experience. It is not a fancy hotel but that wasn't what I was paying for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Older hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015
This hotel was difficult to get in to due to being on a busy road. It was older than I expected and not super well maintained. Just little things like leaves on the inside floor (windy day), deposits on the shower head, old bedspreads, made this hotel not feel very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to kinnick

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: breakfast, receptionist was helpful
Cons: rm needs to be remodeled
Location: iowa hawkeye football
room stunk, ceiling above shower needs to be fixed looks like mold forming very bad odor in room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smokers Welcome

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: We really liked the nice guy making waffles and pancakes at breakfast. What a friendly soul!
Cons: If you don't enforce the no-smoking rule, or if you don't move the loitering drinking buddies out from the front of the lobby... charge a lot less!
During our stay there were constantly people sitting right outside the front door to the lobby under the "No Smoking" signs smoking... and sometimes drinking beer. This might be okay if it were a guys-only hunting lodge, or a half-way house... but NOT the place you want to take your family. I was trying to save money, I admit, but I didn't want to go as low as the Super 8 nearby. I passed the Super 8 on the way, and it seemed better! We had to have conversations with our young kids about how we DIDN'T want them behaving like the folks in front of the hotel. I felt a little embarrassed, but my wife was kind and put up with it in good grace. I made it up to her by getting out of there and booking a room somewhere else and taking her to a nice dinner
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Don't Stay Here!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything
Location: There were some decent restaurants in the area.
I made the mistake of economizing and paid for it dearly. The hotel reeked of disinfectant. The rooms were dark, dingy and musty. Spend a few extra dollars and stay at a name brand hotel in town
4 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Dakoh

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
The room and front desk service was ok. The breakfast could be better. Overall I had a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by JiaHong

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
cheap and fantastic
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Joe Jamison from East Moline, IL

Iowa Hospitality

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Front desk personnel were very helpful. Great room. Slept with no issues & woke rested & energized. Nice overall experience. Will return.