Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Chicago Guy

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Upgraded to a suite - fireplace and jacuzzi - didn't use either but the room was bigger.
Cons: A little seedy feeling; checkin was efficient, but little small talk. hotel was full/wedding party
Location: go downtown Iowa City, 5-10 minute drive, plenty to do there - restaurants, bars, shopping. U of Iowa has lots of options and close by.
Upgraded to a suite. Front desk didn't even tell me? Hotel is decent/clean. The room had an odd smell, not smoke, not mildew/stale, just something odd but not horrible. Bed was Ok - not a destination hotel, but clean/maintained and pretty close to the University.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rooms were outdated and dark, with small TV

Posted Oct 11, 2016
great location and easy to find. good parking and great staff. rooms were outdated and dark, with small TV
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Great staff. Very helpful. Called to ensure reservation was correct
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cresco, Iowa

dirty and smelly

Posted Sep 16, 2016
just walking up to the room, the hallways and elevators were dirty.. the room smelled there was boxes of empty beer cans by the entry door in the parking lot WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
A bit musty smelling. Tried to slide open the window but the outside glass was out of the track and the screen was bent. Had a big gap for bugs to enter. So couldn't leave the window open. Pillows are too big and hard for my liking. Great location!! Standard motel room. Guess you have to pay more to expect any better conditions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Check in went smoothly and the front desk clerk was able to put me in a room close to my parents. My father likes this hotel because it is close the VA Hospital and they usually get a discount (although, I don't believe they no longer discount medical patients having surgery at the VA). It is not a hotel, I would normally book . . . it was OK; just not up to my usual standards. The clerk who checked my mother in (who can be a difficult and demanding customer) was very sweet and patient with my mother's demands, questions and critique. The clerk who checked me in was fine; although, she obviously does not like her job. No eye contact . . . a robot could have checked me in and had the same warmth.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Avoca, Iowa 51521

2 night wedding stay

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Super friendly and accommodating staff. Small but adequate swimming pool. The Free hot breakfast. Large enough dining room for all guests.
Cons: The rooms need to be air dried out to relieve dampness. Opening windows didn't help as no screens. Check air cond. to see why they constantly run.
Location: Tons of things nearby. Great Location. Huge parking lot. U. of Iowa and Iowa Hospitals close by with free shuttle. CoralRidgeMall close.
Staff was extremely helpful and friendly ! Hotel provided FREE shuttle to Bella Sola wedding destination in Tiffin, Iowa--both to & from ! Free hot breakfast was nice with wide variety. Two pleasant hotel ladies cooked all waffles for you and constantly restocked all food items. Very well managed hotel run by people who CARE ! Only two criticisms--rooms felt somewhat damp and GE individual room air conditioners were somewhat loud and ran all night--whether cooling or not. We booked 3 rooms and all were similar in our findings and criticisms.
4 out of 5
by Darby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jerome from Dolton

Wonderful surprises

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were on our way to The Amana Colonies and found this room on Hotels.com; got a great rate and booked it. We arrived and were surprised the hotel offered free dinner M-Th. Sweet. Everything was clean and very nice. The pool area was lovely with painted murals that made you feel you were in the Tropics. The water could have been a little warmer though.
3 out of 5
by Jean Marie

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Quick overnight stay. Room was ok, small pool but refreshing. Pillows were very skimpy.