Ratings based on 748 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Adequate

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I booked this without looking at reviews as I had a sudden trip for funeral. Parking lot full due to Iowa basketball game. Only shampoo & soap provided- no conditioner or lotion. Doors had to be closed hard to get to latch. Food- not worth it. Good frig & microwave. Shower pressure low. Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Close to campass

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff!! And wonderful cook for breakfast!
Cons: stock more towels when more than two people are coming.
Location: really liked Subway out on door and Old Chicago out the other!! We visited both!! Very handy!!
thanks you to the staff for letting us check in early and for the wonderful directions to Hanchers Autorium. We loved your pool. My only problem was there wasn't enough towels in our room. There were enough towels for two people and we had 4 staying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

weekend getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The hotel was fine. Location was excellent. The first night was uneventful. The second night we were awoken by pounding on the wall. After hearing the woman moan we figured out that the couple next door was having sex. That I don't care about but you should really see about securing the headboards so they don't bang on the wall. This was very frustrating and it went on for quite some time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to hospital

Posted Feb 17, 2017
people very nice and wife had breakfast there and said it was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great location for a Hawkeye event!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: location and friendly staff
Cons: beds/pillows are a little uncomfy
Location: Lots of restaurants and things to do right by. Within very good distance of Hawkeye venues.
The staff is very nice and friendly and the location is great. The beds are OK and rooms are nice enough for us to crash in while we are in town for a Hawkeye event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from DSM Iowa

Clean, Friendly, Affordable

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: If I were to ever find anything I am confident that they would fix it right away!!!
Location: Location is within 10 minutes of the hospital complex. As for things to do we don't really know as we are never doing anything other than Dr. Appt's
We have stayed at this Inn 4 times in the last 2 months. Our Grandson sees a kidney Doctor at the hospital there and we live 2 hours away making it very difficult to just drive to and from plus do his appointments all in one day. We booked the first room we could find and have never chosen any other place to stay since then. The staff were very helpful and Friendly! With the number of visits we will have to be making there I am happy with their affordable rates already and we just found out last time that they offer a discounted rate to people who have to visit the hospital. The reason we found this out is because the desk clerk remembered us from our previous visits and asked if we came for the hospital and then told us about the discount!! To me THAT is AMAZING customer service!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for it's price

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Restaurant in walking distance
Cons: Upgrades. Some things are a little outdated, though they are very functional.
Location: We stayed to attend concert at the casino. Though it was further away than we would have liked, it was easy to get to and quiet.
It's not the greatest, but not the worst. It's very comfortable for the price. And the location is good. Quiet. There is a good restaurant in the same parking lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shuttle service

Posted Jan 14, 2017
We were in town for a college bb game. We asked about the shuttle service taking us to the stadium & picking us up after the game. We were told they would take us there but the service ended at 8:30 so we would have to get a taxe to bring us back to the hotel. So instead our grandson took us & picked us up. While we were waiting for him to make his way back to the stadium thru all that traffic in the parking lots, the shuttle from Hartland Inn comes & picks up people to return to the hotel. We were very upset that they lied to us about this. Our grandson would not have had to go out in the cold & battled all that traffic if they would have been honest about picking us up. We asked them about it when we got back & they had some lame excuse about lying. Not a good policy to lie & especially when you get caught in it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Debbie Bullion, Hotel Management
Thank you the feedback. Our shuttle service does end at 8:30pm. (So, we weren't fibbing) However, if there is traffic or other situations, we may run over the 8:30pm time frame. But, our posted shuttle hours are 6:50am until 8:30pm , Monday through Friday. I am sorry, but we just cannot promise rides beyond those hours. We would not want to have guests expecting rides and waiting somewhere in the dark and cold. I am very sorry and have no idea why the shuttle was running past the scheduled time...I am a bit curious about that too!! Thank you again for your very honesty feedback, I appreciate it. Debbie Bullion General Manager Heartland Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Staff, free breakfast. Clean room.
Cons: Probably some consistency in condition of each room.
I was on the third floor in a king room so I can only comment on that. My room was clean, nicely appointed and may have been remodeled within the last few years. Also, the floor was quiet. I went on a week day, so keep that in mind, but nonetheless the hotel was busy. A friend was in a room on the first floor and had a different experience with noise; a storm window was not placed properly and caused a rattle; also the room was next to an entrance/exit so it was noisy at different times. The tub was cracked. However the room was clean and appointed the same as mine. I was there on a night they served dinner for free and it was good; ditto breakfast. I think most people would be okay with this hotel because you can tell the staff and management care about the property and customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a nice place to stay.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Staff is always very nice!! The bed we had was very uncomfortable and the pillows are flat! But the room is always clean.