Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Convenient location off of main road and freeway.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms and nice kitchen.
Cons: Room 215 shower had hair in drain and wall could be cleaner.
Location: Many restaurants and Lindale Mall.
Good breakfast. Nice room design. Large parking lot and well equipped kitchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for posting a review. I am glad you enjoyed your room, but am sorry for the hair in the shower drain. Maintenance frequently cleans the drains to keep them flowing free, and I will see that he addresses that one right away. Thanks again and come visit us again when you are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Nice hotel with great amenities. Very comfortable Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for reviewing the hotel! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.
5 out of 5
by Margie

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review!
4 out of 5
by Garland

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review!
4 out of 5
by Richard from Ankeny

OK place to stay, nothing remarkable.

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The room is showing a bit of wear. Location is safe, but nothing much within walking distance. More of an industrial area
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review. We are located off the main streets, but this does help our guests sleep better at night without the sound of traffic outside the bedroom windows!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bug infestation

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Heater didn't work in he first room, the second room had silverfish on every wall/ceiling - I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
I apologize for the issue with the room head. This has been repaired. As for the silverfish, we have sprayed for them and have Orkin here every month to do routine preventative spraying like most hotels do. I am sorry that your stay was not excellent but do hope you will try us again when you are in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homewood Suites

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this Homewood Suites before and was very pleased with the previous stays. However, the room I was in this time had a broken porcelain tile in the center of the floor that was in fact, dangerous. I reported this to the front desk but it was not repaired during my stay. Normally this hotel is very quiet, however, during this stay there were children running the halls. On the plus side, I was able to move to a room that was far more quiet. i.e. the front desk was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. I am sorry about the floor tile in your room but was happy to read that the Front Desk could get you moved to a better room. We do hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by William from Denver, CO

Nice suite for a reasonable price

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice stay. The room was comfortable and roomy. The complimentary Internet was out for several hours while I was there, but worked well otherwise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review. I am sorry that we had internet issues while you were here, but glad it was back up and running before you left. We hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by Janelle

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Short stay in Cedar Rapids

Posted Apr 4, 2016
We had an overnight stay in Cedar Rapids. Upon arriving in our room, we noticed a slight smoke smell in our room. Contacted the front desk, and with no hesitation they moved us to another room. The room was spacious and very inviting. The bed was very comfortable. Thank you for moving us to another room. If we head to Cedar Rapids again for an overnight stay, we will make sure to check our Homewood Suites again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by General manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review. I am sorry about the smoke smell (we are a non smoking hotel). We sometimes have guests that ignore the fact that we are non smoking, and will smoke in the rooms. We do try to rid the room of the smell before guests are allowed to use the room. I am glad the staff got you moved.