Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Will be back

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Cons: Please have staff at desk truly welcome people and speak more clearly and with more frlendliness on phone as well.
Other than pretty unwelcoming hotel staff at desk, place is great! Room was fantastic, though heat/AC fan was incredibly loud. We just turned it off most of the time. Room was huge, very modern, completely clean, very comfy beds, outstanding bathroom, kitchen, tons of storage space and light. LOVED it. Location cannot be beat - on ped. walkway and two mins. from campus. We walked everywhere and got free parking validated with room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Looked liked IKEA room, but dirtier and broken.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Our check-in was slow, but staff was pleasant. I was surprised when we entered the room to find everything look like it came from IKEA, but was broken and dirty. The bed had impressions from previous gas, the toilet paper holder on the wall is broken, The sliding glass door to the bathroom was missing a bracket so slammed into the wall moved all over the place, the couch and the chair were dirty microsuade, and everything looked worn and ready to break. The fan would not stop running, and the thermostat to said it needed a new battery and a filter needed replaced. The room was set to 76° and no matter what we tried it would not go down. Unfortunately we got in late and didn't call for someone to come up at midnight but instead opened the windows. Mistake! From midnight until 3 AM we heard every drunk screaming college student and the ped Mall and the police sirens. Upon check out we talk to staff about the condition of the room, thermostat, and our night, and got to say sorry that happened and nothing else. Based on staff's reaction, this would not be the first time they heard it. When I was booking a room and I was city, I purposely looked for high rated hotel rooms and was willing to pay the 170 for one night. I would have been better off going to a different hotel for much less price. I would not read this hotel one star. I also asked about the managers are given the names. One was on duty but she did not offer to go get them so I left because I was exhausted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Aurora

campus visit

Posted Mar 27, 2017
front desk clerk unhelpful with suitable restaurant recommendations. Hallway smelled like pot. Lack of privacy for bathroom due to sliding frosted glass door Fair price, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great location, a lot of restaurants at walking distance. Rooms are big and confortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Looks can be a bit deceiving

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The looks are high-end and very modern. Location is ideal for getting around campus.
Cons: Water pressure. Service staff that speak English. More than one front desk attendant.
Location: Very close to campus. Located in the heart of downtown activity. Ideally located to many attractions.
The hotel looks great on the website - very high-end, ultra modern. While the reality is similar to the photos, the hotel is showing some signs of use and a lack of high standards. The front desk experience was fine, but the attendant was seated behind a low desk (rather than the counter) which required the guests to be seated while checking in. The front desk attendant also was responsible for taking room reservations while simultaneously taking care of guests. We waited 10 minutes for a phone call that resulted in a "thanks for the information, but I'll reserve online instead because it's cheaper" - frustrating to listen to every word. Having 2 people on duty would have alleviated this situation. The furniture has been well used and beginning to show signs of wear, walls have many scrapes and dents, etc. In the bathroom, the water pressure is relatively low yielding more of a "sprinkle" than a "shower". The huge garden tub took nearly 30 minutes to fill. Overall, it was a fine experience, but we won't be going back. It wasn't worth the price tag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Good Location.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: comfort
Can park vehicle and walk to all the eating places and entertainment stops you could want to see.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest Traveler

Not the best or the worst place in the world.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the rooms.
Location: Located near the places we were going to be. Parking in the adjacent lot was convenient.
Arrived and checked in. The front desk staff was only marginally polite. In the room, it all looked good until our shoes stuck to the sticky floor. Kitchen was not stocked as we were told it would be. This would have been not so bad until we saw the mold in the shower. If mold was overlooked in the shower, how clean could the rest of the room actually be????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from mt pleasant iowa

Nice place to stay next to the ped mall

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: King bed, clean, very nice shower and most amenities are readily available.
Cons: Other than the bed, the furniture is not comfortable. Very disappointed that only local stations are available for TV.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, bars and other nightlife attractions, Iowa City ped mall also has stuff for kids to do.
hotelVetro is a good place for mini-vacation in Iowa City, especially if you're going to an event somewhere in the ped mall. Spacious rooms and within walking distance to so many stores, restaurants and venues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Great location great amenities nearby within walking. Cool design. Some maintenance needed to be done bathroom specially in the shower. The door would not shut the and the handle would fall off. Otherwise good experience a bit pricey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY POLITE;FRIENDLY SERVICE.100% CLEAN...NICE...

Posted Feb 14, 2017
BUSINESS TRIP...EXCELLENT SERVICE.;VERY PLEASED WITH SERVICE.