Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center of town.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Room size and comfort.
Beautiful hotel centrally located in the heart of the Pedestrian Mall. Can park your vehicle and walk to all the hot spots in downtown Iowa City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Their efforts to go green as well as the friendly staff, clean line interior design, ease of use and getting around town and lets not forget Formosa!
Cons: The weather, but that has nothing to do with the hotel :)
Location: Great restaurants nearby, Share next door in the Sheraton was great for breakfast, the Bread Market, Basta and Baroncini's for fine Italian Dining.
Had to make a last minute trip a few days after Christmas to visit a relative at the hospital in Iowa City. We booked a package with a car hotel and plane tickets. The weather was brutally cold but the atmosphere inside was so warm and inviting. The staff was so friendly, no matter what time we were there each and every person made us feel like we were the only ones there! We never had a concern or issue that was not addressed or taken care of. I have never had the luxury of staying in a "Green" Hotel but hotelVetro is just that and all of their attention to detail as well as their product line is just amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who asked. A really short walk to great dining, boutique shopping and 5 minutes to the hospital! Couldn't be more impressed with a hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vetro - Iowa City

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: Get rid of bathroom glass door
Location: Heart of downtown Iowa City; walking distance to excellent restuarant and the campus
Great downtown location. ALL STAFF EXCELLENT and well trained. Bed comfortable. Not thrilled about glass bathroom door. Too exposed, for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Location and view is great. It is very modern/industrial. Cool place to stay.
Parking was easy. Staff was very nice at check in. Room had a great view of Iowa City. The location couldn't be better. Close to campus. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Antiseptic smell, Unclear directions

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The common areas (hallways, lobby) smelled like irritatingly cleaned, too strong of cleaner smells, artwork hooks showing instead of artwork in the hallways. The staff couldn't clearly tell me how to get from the Ramp (Iowa's word for a parking structure?) to the hotel. There are no signs in Ramp indicating what floor has walkway to hotel and no signs (near elevator buttons, perhaps) indicating what floor had the walkway. The hotel's room was spacious and clean; had a comfortable bed. No pots pans or silverware in kitchen, but set of dishes and coffe cups were there. Odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Awesome

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Very clean, comfortable, trendy, convenient, great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Cons: The fans for the heating system are loud, and the only way to turn them off is to have the building engineer come do it. Not ideal when it's cold.
Very nice rooms; the grocery/casual restaurant next door ("The Bread Garden")is a great asset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Very strange that there is no breakfast offered, and that the hotel that is attached is not part of the hotel, i.e., you cannot charge to the room. The way to the fitness center is also awkward.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable beds but needed maintainance

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: It's in a great location next to the pedmall. Nice restaurants and nightlife in walking distance.
It's a nice hotel but a bit overpriced. The bed and pillows were excellent quality and comfortable. They were the best part that made up for the price. The suite had a lot of furniture and appliances and was roomy, but it didn't have any silverware or normal cups. It was odd considering there was a dishwasher and dishes. I'm sure the amenities are available, but you have to call down for everything, including a blow dryer. Our room had three broken lights and the toilet wasn't working right. It shouldn't have been given to us in that shape. The site said it had hot tubs, but it's just a regular tub in case you're looking for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Very clean, comfort you wouldn't except from the city of its size, and would match stays I've had at $500/night hotels across the country for comfort and cleanliness.