Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Coralville Ia

No frills motel ok in only staying 1 day and on a

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: location was near where I wanted to go. price was very economical.
Cons: entiy ways
Location: I think the majority of guests are going to University hospital or football games or over the rode travelers
This motel could be an issue if you have mobility problems. The breakfast area had stairs - so skipped that. The exterior doors had raised threasholds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do have access to the breakfast area by using the ramp that is located in the lobby. It takes those with mobility issues to the ground floor without using stairs. From there the breakfast room can be accessed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Breakfast

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Overall the hotel was fine. We ate breakfast at about 8 a.m. the biscuits were like hockey pucks. The gravy was like paste. The coffee was terrible. Except for the breakfast your hotel was fine. I will recommend it but let my friends know they need to eat breakfast somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Convenient location, moderate price.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms were small, especially the bathroom, skimpy on towels.
Location: Not applicable
We just needed a place to stay for the night, arrived late, was familiar with super eight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Misty Fice GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Easy access to campus

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: A clean and friendly hotel, nice staff, good breakfast and reasonable room pricing.
Cons: My hotel room and a few others had TV channel issues, no signal on many channels. The hotel was notified but not resolved during our multi-day stay.
Location: I stayed here because of the proximity and easy access to the university.
The hotel was recently remodeled, providing a clean and fresh experience. Parking was easy in the large lot. The room was very clean. The breakfast area always had available seating and breakfast items were well stocked. The area was kept clean. The biggest downside of this hotel is the busy street. Turning left out of the parking lot at rush hour can be a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Misty Fice GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Small clean adeq room. no elevator. walking trail

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Close to campus.
Cons: Do not double rates for graduation weekend.
Location: Great walking trail just nearby. On busy street.
Room small but clean. ac fine. Bed comfortable. No frills. Adjacent to scenic river and walking trail. Had to carry luggage up to 2nd floor via flight of stairs. No elevator . One ramp to bottom floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Misty Fice GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for you kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I ahd a very good stay. I esecially liked that there was plenty of praking room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Misty Fice GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We hope that if you come back to the area, you will chose to stay with us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Robin

Do not stay here.

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
The room was small. I wanted to change the rooms. I was told I could not. The bed was horrible. Breakfast was bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Lobby carped needed vacuuming .
5 out of 5
by Michele

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
My husband had surgery at University of Iowa Hospital on Friday, March 24th. My daughter and I stayed here while he stayed in overnight at the hospital. This is very close to the hospital which made us comfortable if we needed to get back there quickly. They are in the process of remodeling and updating, so everything was very nice. Clean and comfortable room. Quiet being back from street some. Will definitely go back there when we have to stay in Iowa City again!