Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corralville, IA

Loud and under construction

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Positives: we were able to check in early for a wedding. The room looked decent at first appearance. It appeared clean. Negatives: their was construction going on most of the time we were there and they didn't set up any border sheets so there was dust everywhere. It was extremely loud all night long with people yelling late into the night. Their were massive cigarette burns in our sheets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock Il.

Handicapped Room.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Convenience to U.I. hospital
Cons: Keep on remodelling
Location: U. I. Hospitals
Best Handicapped room I have stayed in in Quite awhile.. AAA for remodeling efforts. Would stay again with no problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are happy you like the progress. We hope to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, IA

Stay from hell.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: Fix the rooms.
Location: Location was close to the college.
Stool leaks from above down on your head. Don't stay on lower floors. Well, never heard of rocking stools but these did. We don't smoke but we were put in a smoking room. I have terrible allergies so became very sick from the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry that you experienced issues. Please know that the problem has been fixed. The 2nd room you were put into was actually a non smoking room. Unfortunately it was by the smoking section. I'm very sorry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Presently being remodeled.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Cons: Heating/AC unit was noisy.
Location: Very close to the University of Iowa campus and sports' facilities.
Overall, a pleasant stay with the exception of the AC/Heating unit. It was too noisy for me to sleep so I would just turn it off at night. That was fine until it was too cool and I had to get up and warm up the room again. Maybe they'll be replaced with all of the other updates being done in the hotel...hope so!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! Yes, any A/C units that are no functioning well, will be replaced! We hope you will try us out again. We should have the remodel completed by the end of January!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Restful night

Posted Oct 26, 2016
lived up to Super 8 reputation of cleanliness, comfort and great rate. Will be staying there again on our next trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review. We look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Average at best

Posted Oct 26, 2016
In process of a remodel but needs lots of work. Average at best. That's the best I can say
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. As you mentioned, we are under renovations. We are in hopes to have them completed by the end of January. Lots of work is indeed in store. We are doing a full remodel. Rooms have been started, but are not finished. We are redoing the lobby, breakfast area, new carpet and tile thru out, and much much more. I hope you are willing to give us another chance down the road. I'm sure you will enjoy all the updates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames, IA

Great hotel for the price

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The lady at check in was very friendly and my room was clean and spacious. They are doing renovations and they were painting a few rooms down from mine on the third floor (no elevators). The fumes were pretty strong there for awhile but that was my only complaint. My husband hates elevators and it wasn't very difficult to get to our room. Breakfast wasn't much to write home about but I wasn't expecting a big spread anyway. This is a wonderful hotel when you're trying to save some money. $64 for a king size bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For the price terrible

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The straw that broke the camels back was when I went to the front desk and said my toilet wouldn't flush, they proceeded to hand me a plunger and plastic gloves and said help yourself. Then it still wouldn't work, the front desk said if we didn't fix it they would charge us. Thankfully my husband fixed it. Classy NOT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am so very sorry that happened to you. I will be speaking to me front desk on this situation to insure it doesn't happen again. I appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pella

Travel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Clean and had smoking rooms.
Cons: Travel help.
Location: No travel home after concert.
The hotel was fine but it took us over 2 hours to get a taxi, Uber or anyone that would take us back to the motel. With a big concert that we went to at Kinnick, the City, motels, etc. should have taken an extra effort to take care of our guests. It was too far to walk which we almost did for we didn't want to be out in the streets all night. The police even ignored us. My recommendation to all should be to take care of your visitors that visit your city!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment about our hotel. I will talk to the CVB about your other concerns.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perry, IA

Disgusting

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Sauce on the wall initially appeared to be blood it was splattered everywhere including the Wyndham rewards tent. Burn holes in comforter, toilet didn't work, staff spoke minimal English, shells in eggs for breakfast, sink wouldn't drain. Nasty waste of money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. I will be speaking to my staff about these issues and make sure they are corrected!