Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, CT

Downtown Iowa City

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet space
Cons: The minor blemishes and dirt in room that may have been overlooked.
Location: Bars, university, shopping.
Quick check in, friendly staff. Room was mostly clean, had some minor blemished that could be fixed. Beds were comfortable. Very quiet. Close to everything downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Great stay. Nothing bad to say about it. Hope to come back to Iowa City again sometime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rolling Meadows, Il

Best location for a college visit.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Parking was $14 per day but everytime you go in/out you have to go to the front desk for new validation. Room temp was impossible to regulate..we did not call for help with this though. Very thin walls..heard everything in the hall and upstairs/next door. Room was very nice..lots of cable channels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very clean and comfortable with nice aroma.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Great location , clean, nice aroma
Cons: No hot tub
Location: Near all the bars, restaurants, and sweet treats
• Perfect location if you're visiting University of Iowa •Nice indoor pool just missing a hot tub • Rooms very clean and comfortable • Staff nice • there's an option for free breakfast, parking and evening Hors d'oeuvres
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Hotel room was not clean at all. When you spend that much a night, I would expect the bed sheets to be on the bed and clean. Overall, we would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, but not if you want to sleep

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: I love location and room service option
Cons: A LOT!
Stayed on a Sunday night with my 8 year old, while we were in town for his doctor appt at Uiowa. My husband had stayed there on a previous clinic visit and complained about noise, a fight in the halls and lack of cleanliness. I had stayed at Sheraton before and enjoyed the experience so I thought it was an isolated incident. I was wrong. From 12:30-3:30 there were numerous people coming off of the elevator shouting, laughing and bumping the door to our room. It was not a restful night! The next morning I went into the bathroom to shower and there was mildew or mold all over the ceiling of the shower. There was also hair on the shower curtain and bathtub. Needless to say we will not be staying at the Sheraton again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Great hotel every thing was very nice. Close to downtown Iowa City and close to the football stadium. The only down was we reserved a room with 2 beds there were 4 of us we got a room with 1 King. Our adult kids had to sleep on the floor. The hotel said we weren't guaranteed the kind of room as we paid the reservation through Expedia!! Yet I have a confirmation that says 2 queen beds!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Location is great - but not great for the price.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Unacceptable to pay over $200 and have a cold shower and cleaning staff yelling to each other down the hallways at 8AM on a Sunday.
Location: Perfect - walking distance to all the hotspots downtown.
Perfect location downtown - near all the eating/drinking/action - but for the price - really not great - cold showers, loud cleaning staff in the hallways early in the morning, incredibly slow elevators, wifi was awful (going without was quicker). Just expect more for $200+.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy housekeeping staff

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Beds
Cons: Noise
Location: Convenient for downtown restaurants, close to University undergraduate area.
The beds were comfy and rooms were clean however the housekeeping staff was very noisy in the hallway both mornings that we stayed there. The first morning, even with earplugs in, we could hear a long conversation that woke us all up. We had been hoping to sleep in past 8:30 after a long day of travel. The second morning we were up by 8:00 and again heard the conversations in the hallway. Front desk staff were pleasant but not overly friendly. Parking for an "oversized" vehicle was in a gravel lot with big holes and not well lit at night, for a $30 fee. This was a bit surprising that this was the Sheraton's best solution for a car and u-haul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Sheridan for UI visit

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Convenient for UI fvisit and city. Bathroom not as clean as would hope for and mattress was not great.