Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Creature comforts of home.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Great location, comfortable beds and the linens are wonderful!
Location: Shopping options are plentiful and the winery will not disappoint.
What a wonderful way to end a day of shopping. A nice glass of wine from Cedarcreek Winery followed by an extremely comfortable bed with linens you will buy upon check out. The complimentary breakfast is lovely and of course, room service is available if you prefer to stay in your PJ's. I highly recommend the Washington House Inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice Inn. Great Location!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I've stayed here periodically over the last 25 years and it is always consistent and pleasant. Good breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely historic Inn in a charmer of a town

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and comfortable beds
Location: Cedarburg is a wonderful small town with lots of charm and some great restaurants.
Recently spent one night in Cedarburg at the Washington House Inn and wish we had time to stay longer. Cedarburg itself is a charming town and the Washington House Inn was the perfect place to stay. The inn was conveniently located in walking distance from restaurants and shopping and the staff couldn't have been any friendlier and welcoming. We stayed in Room 207 Henry Hentschel which is one of their smaller rooms but was very comfortable. The sheets are sooooo soft and apparently I am not the first to ask about them, because they sell them if you are interested in ordering some for your own bed at home. The breakfast buffet was good and had many choices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check out Cedarburg

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Cedarburg is an awesome destination and the Washington House is amazing.
5 out of 5
by carolyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Downers Grove, IL

Our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts were much more than the usual continental breakfasts and the food was delicious. Also, the wine and cheese social was a nice touch.
Cons: Some of the staff could have been more pleasant and looked like they enjoyed their jobs more.
Location: We really didn't get to do much other than shop at the many gift shops. The location was a little noisy since the hotel is right on the main street.
We met a couple from London, England and enjoyed visiting with them for quite awhile in the dining room over coffee and bakery one evening. We also visited the shops and came home with several items for our gardens. We had a great fish dinner at Maxwell's down the street and of course we couldn't resist the ice cream at the Chocolate Factory.
5 out of 5
by Alison

Phenomenal hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
There were so many wonderful things about our stay at the Washington, I'm not sure where to begin. I guess I'd have to start with the building itself--it's gorgeous and beautifully restored. There are rough hewn beams in the hallway and bedroom we were staying in that gave it a rustic, cozy feel, but the rest of the appointments within the room and common areas were straight up elegant. We had a jacuzzi in our bedroom that made the trip even more enjoyable, since I had tweaked my back and needed a hot soak to relieve it. The bed was incredibly comfortable, too. The morning breakfast was fantastic. They change it up all the time, but what we had was superb--fresh, delicious, and beautiful. The fact that they served wonderful coffee was just the cherry on top for me. And Cedarburg...what a gem of a town! I'd live in Wisconsin for many years but had never even heard of Cedarburg before. It's like a smart, artsy, non-touristy version of Lake Geneva, but with a lovely river instead of a lake. We fell in love with Cedarburg. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, even if my activities were 20 miles away, it's that good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Relaxation Personified!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The uniqueness of the rooms. The old time charm.
Cons: Making sure the room is suitable for whomever is staying there.
Location: Charming shops, the old time mill, very good restaurants, the covered bridge and the people.
The Washington House Inn has been a favorite of ours for over 30 years. The staff makes one feel like family and the rooms are all unique and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great value for a beautiful bed and breakfast.

Posted May 10, 2017
Cons: The only thing that I think could be improved was the lighting in the bathroom.
My son and I booked a room for a bonding experience in Cedarburg. There are 2 wineries, a brewery, a few coffee shops, restaurants, candy shops, a theater and quite a few stores all within walking distance. The room was not huge, but very adequate with 2 comfortable beds (sheets were super soft), lots of pillows, a TV, 2 chairs and a nice size bathroom. Plenty of towels, soaps, lotions and shampoo were supplied with a hair dryer that you could use. They had a social hour from 5 to 6 with cheese and crackers and wine from one of the local wineries. From 7 to 10 the next morning they had a continental breakfast which was very good. Fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, yogurt, potatoes, toast, coffee and juice. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.