Ratings based on 863 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel with good location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Value, cleanliness, location
Cons: The bed was a little on the hard side.
Location: Walking distance to all the attractions. Pretty safe.
Staff was friendly, courteous, professional and quick. Helped us avoid parking tickets by guiding us with some obscure sign in front of the hotel (handicap). Parking is somewhat limited in the hotel but we found a garage opposite the hotel (with the help of the hotel staff of course) that has a comparable pricing to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect hotel for exploring Porto

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, amenities, hotel staff, breakfast
Cons: A kettle and tea and coffee in the room would have been great
Location: Commercial galleries and quirky shops, good restaurants and main sights at walk-able distance.
I arrived late at Porto airport and therefore didn't get to the hotel until a quarter past midnight, but the staff was friendly and checked me in without problems. I stayed in two different rooms during my stay, due to a booking error on my part, so I got to experience 2 rooms in one visit. Both rooms were clean and spacious and stocked with excellent shower and moisturising products and a lovely bathrobe. The hotel breakfast was excellent, lots of options. I would definitely recommend it. The location of the hotel was great for exploring the city, yet far enough from the touristy centre to be quiet and peaceful, particularly at night. The staff was friendly and very helpful; I would definitely recommend Eurostar des Artes for anyone travelling to Porto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel, walkable to everything.

Posted May 10, 2017
The staff is fantastic. The only negative is the pillow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Well positioned hotel

Posted May 6, 2017 on Wotif
Easy to find and has on site parking. Comfortable walk to many sights and the Douro. Rooms very comfortable and bed enormous. Certainly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants

Posted May 2, 2017
There were ants all over the room including in the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Room was large and comfortable - location just ok

Posted May 1, 2017
Very large and spacious room - modern and clean. I like a firm mattress but the bed was hard. I was uncomfortable the first night, but got used to it on nights 2 and 3. Excellent breakfast, and staff were very friendly and helpful. It is about a 30 minute walk to the centre of the waterfront restaurant area. Fine if the weather is good (it was), but not much choice in the immediate area if you want a restaurant near the hotel. The hotel staff recommended a local restaurant about 10 minutes walk. It was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Did not get the room I booked and paid extra for

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: I would not recommend to anyone. Never seen such an appalling treatment by a hotel staff.
Cons: People should get the room they booked.
Did not get the larger room I booked and paid extra for, and it seemed perfectly normal to the hotel staff - when I asked to be moved to a larger room (as my reservation showed) the only answers they had for me were: the bathroom here is larger as it's an accessibility room, and "sorry, but hotel is fully booked". I spend a lot of nights at hotels for my work, and such thing never happened to me.
3 out of 5
by louise

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Bed very uncomfortable - like lying on concrete. Towels that I had put in bath to be replaced were hung back up on hooks - had to pester reception to change them. Breakfast at 12 euros each is overpriced compared to food outside etc Reception could recommend better restaurants - first one on first night was like the equivalent of a Scottish chippie. The food in this city is amazing - that was a wasted meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A quiet and convenient hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Good cocktails by Diego.
Cons: Provide some lounge furniture within the bar area. Ensure cooked breakfast food is kept hot.
Location: Used the hop on hop off bus that also included a river trip and a tour of the port cellars, all very good.
Standard bedroom, no frills but clean and with a massive comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast had a wide selection of food but the hot food was far from hot, the cold plates not helping. Nice small bar with an ever smiling and helpful barman, Diego. The location of the hotel is in a small quiet side street about a 10min walk from the Douro river, walking down not too bad but a steady climb back up!! Lots to do in Porto, we loved it.
4 out of 5
by Sophie

Does as it says on the tin!

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in great location. Diogo the barman was a just lovely, full of local knowledge and makes a mean cocktail! Would definitely recommend. Only fault was we thought breakfast was included but it wasn't. Minor detail :)