Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Beautiful hotel, amazing staff.

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, staff could not be more helpful. Nice informal breakfast.
5 out of 5
by George

The hostel is excellent

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent in all respects - a wonderful stay at Gallery Hostel. The staff were fantastic and the place is ultra clean with everything that you wish very well provided.
4 out of 5
by elizabeth

Very pleasant stay, would recommend to others

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
This was my second stay at Gallery Hostel within a one-week period. The first time I stayed in a double room and the stay was lovely. The second time I stayed in a triple and everything was great except the room smelled of mildew. The staff was extremely friendly and the location was great. Breakfast was good/fine. I would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Lovely!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, with helpful staff!
We stayed at the Gallery Hostel guesthouse across the street, which was beautiful! The best accommodations I had on a two week vacation. The location is walkable to everything in Porto, but not in the center of town. The staff members were really helpful, even making phone calls for us as we planned the rest of our trip.
5 out of 5
by Linda

A hidden gem.

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Galley Hostel was an amazing place to stay. A fantastic historical building beautifully adapted for its current purpose with the most helpful staff. We only had one night here before leaving early (before breakfast, unfortunately) in order to catch our flight but had we been there longer would have taken part in the free walking tour of the city which happens every morning at 10:30. The whole place had a homely, quirky feel with great decor. It was easy to find using the map provided on the website and though the street itself looked very uninspiring, the front door opens into a real gem of a place. Would definitely go back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Central different

Posted Aug 16, 2017
From the airport we took the tube to Sau Bento tube station then a Uber cab €4.5 to hotel. The hotel is walking distance from tourist attractions. We had the up graded room across the street from reception it was nice. Would warn people when getting out of shower the floor is painted and very slippery my wife had a very nasty fall was very lucky not to break here arm. Liked the idea of comunity breakfast but quality of food could have been better. I liked the hotel would recommend it if you like something different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great little hotel in the heart of Porto

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and setting
Location: The hotel is located on the edge of the city centre, in the art gallery area; easy walk to the river, tourist centres and easy metro ride to the beach
This hotel is actually a hostel, but there are private rooms too. the staff are really nice and the hotel itself is casual but very well appointed (although no lifts/elevators). the breakfast is nice and locally there are a number of nice restaurants and coffee shops for lunch or dinner. The location is in the art gallery area, lovely old buildings most of which are either already renovated or being renovated now. Easy walk to the river and tourist centres and easy metro ride to the beach
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little boutique hostel

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great boutique hostel. Comfortable and friendly. Wi-Fi didn't really extend to the room. Room wasn't completely soundproof but was fairly quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Awesome stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Hostel may be hard to find when you first arrive but I loved this place! Stayed here for 3 nights in Triple Room (Double/Twin rooms sold out). Our room was simple with no TV. This was ok because we spent most of our time outside our rooms. Location is within walkable distance to Churches, tourists areas, eateries, Santa Catarina streets (shopping), bars and restaurants. Late at night, I felt safe in the neighborhood. Staff: welcoming, friendly & pleasant. Upon arrival, they orient you with a map. Free (simple) walking tours offered in the morning. If you need an outbound ride to train station, they can liaise with a driver at a competitive fee (Taxi is comparable - both very affordable). Thanks- Caterina & Fred. Breakfast was more than just milk and cereal. They offer cheese, ham, toast, simple pasteries and SCRAMBLED eggs (which is my favourite). Milk & coffee too.