Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Looks nicer on pictures

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The one positive, it was a good location.
Cons: Renovation is required.
The hotel is fairly outdated and in need of a renovation and overall it was disappointing. The rooms are very small and the pictures certainly don't reflect the room condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Hotel Malaposta, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We regret not having met your expectations. We are planning to do works at the hotel soon in order to improve our product for our guests! We hope you can visit us again! Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Misleading pictures

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Downtown Porto is small, however, scenery can change dramatically in two blocks. This hotel is located in a not very nice area, a good walk away from most points of interest. Hotel staff is not really friendly and rooms are in terrible condition. Dirty hallway carpet, old and uncomfortable beds and really foul-smelling bathroom. I felt deceived by the pictures they post on the website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Hotel Malaposta, Hotel Management
Dear Elsa, We are truly sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We will take into account your feedback in order to improve in the future in the different items mentioned. We hope you can visit us again and have a better experience in Oporto! Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, let down by room quality and price

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The room was small, old and noisy. The bed uncomfortable and there was only one plug!!!, We were given onotherone that was bigger but same conditions. This one had 2 plugs. Too expensive for what you get. Good location though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Hotel Malaposta, Hotel Management
Dear Mary London, Thank you for giving us your feedback. We have some works forecasted and it is important that our guests tell us what you feel we need to improve. The plugs and the bed situation are really important! Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK!

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel for the price but not if you are looking for luxurious comfort, well maintained facility and great breakfast spread. The locality was good and very close some nice sights. Also so close to the Metro.
4 out of 5
by Luis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, Clean Hotel. Beds were a bit uncomofrtable and squeeky
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Centrally positioned with a good price

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: price and position
Cons: reception staff
Location: lots of cafes and bars in the immediate area and very central for sightseeing, easy to get to from the airport by metro
The reception staff through out my stay were abrupt and unwelcoming, almost rude when I first arrived and most definitely surly. This is the area where this hotel could make the easiest and biggest improvement. Also I left my bag in their care on my last day and it had clearly been gone through, probably by another guest. Other than that it was perfectly clean if a bit run down, for instance the enamel bath was chipped in a number of places and the shower head was pretty pathetic. The bed was comfortable enough, you have to pay by the day if you want to use the safe, which was just cheapskate. The breakfast was good with a good selection on the cold buffet. This hotels main attractions are its cost and its central location. Very easy to get to from the airport by metro too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Extremely good location for everything.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: Bigger dining area and more modern showers. And an English language TV station with a better signal.
Location: Plenty of eating and drinking places..near the metro and railway-short walking distances. Hop on and off bus a great way to be introduced to Porto.
All reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Good breakfast but in a very small area for the numbers of people there. Rooms good if a little small for 3 people. A little bit dated shower needs to be updated in some rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Good hotel and handy for most places in Porto

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, breakfast and the staff.
Cons: Internet a bit on the slow side at times.
Location: Plenty to do nearby...just a 10-15 minute walk to anywhere really! Porto is not that big. 901/906 bus takes you straight back from Villa Nova de Gaia.
Stayed at the Hotel Malaposta for 8 nights. Very close to Trindade metro station so it is on a direct metro line from the airport. Only 10 mins to walk to São Bento station where you can get trains to Aveiro, Braga, Guimarães etc without having to go all the way to Campanhã station. Handy as well for the hop on hop off buses and the Eugenia's Free Walking Tour. Plentiful continental breakfast with something for everyone - fresh fruit, croissants, cold meats, toast, cheese etc. Rooms were kept clean and there is a nice reception area with plenty of seating. Showere was great and the location was mostly quiet. Also close to a decent sized supermarket and one much smaller supermarket too. Very pleased with my choice of Porto hotel for my holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lond

Excellent hotel for 3 stars

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Very nice stay at dis hotel close do everything centre of city and close for r night life