Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW England

Would I stay there again - In A Heartbeat, Yes.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Cons: Coffee Machine in the Room
Location: Many good restaurants / bars within easy walking distance of the hotel for excellent food and German hospitality
Lets not get too bogged down with the "is this really a 5 star hotel" debate, I've stayed in newer, far more up to date, far more luxurious hotels boasting 5 stars and some not so modern or comfortable. We arrived in the early evening having driven from the airport to find that the outside carpark was full requiring us to park up on the street outside. Sorry but I'm not going to pay somewhere in the region of 15 Euro per night just to park my hire car in the hotel garage. Be Aware - there are parking restrictions on the main street - Read the signs. For me the mature trees and grassed area around the patio to the front of the hotel set the scene, walking in through the front door makes a further impression, something traditional, something special. Old, comfortable and welcoming. Check in was simple and efficient, room upgrade offered and accepted due to very reasonable rate. The room wasn't the biggest I've ever stayed in but spotlessly clean and well equipped. ( My only criticism - No coffee machine ). Large flatscreen TV allows programs to be view in 'English' which helped with Game of Thrones :-) Lots of facilities / services offered by the hotel but as we on a sightseeing trip we didn't really have the time to take advantage of these or the two first class restaurants unfortunately. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the service provided by the staff was first class and the diningroom is typically German high standard. Its only about a 5 minute walk into town - Enjoy
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof Celle, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your stay in the Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof Celle and for the time you spend to share your experiences at Expedia. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stopover in our house. Actually not all of our rooms are equipped with a coffee machine in the room. We are planing further renovations of our rooms and after all rooms except the Classic category will be equipped with a coffee machine. We would be glad to welcome you back in Celle soon. With kind regards Ingo Schreiber General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Lovely hotel in a pleasant town near Hannover.

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel was lovely. The attention to detail was excellent. Lovely setting and nice on site restaurant. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices and nice quality food. The pool and steam room facilities looked well kept but I didn't have time to use them. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof Celle, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your visit in the Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof Celle and for the time you spend to share your experiences at Expedia. We are pleased about your nice words about the restaurant and the staff. I allready shared your commandation with them. We would be glad to welcome you back in Celle soon. With best regards Ingo Schreiber Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Lovely hotel!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
This hotel is located 1/2 mile from the Celle train station. Do yourself a favor and d/l the Deutsche Bahn ap for train info and ticket purchases. The staff with no exception was courteous and helpful. They speak excellent English, so American travelers are made to feel welcome. The rooms are modern and clean. I will definitely be back next year!
4 out of 5
by Mark

Nice but not the best

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel not five star service but rooms and service good, breakfast service disappointing though, had to ask to coffee, dishes not cleared away - not what you expect from a hotel of this standard. Pool was freezing cold so didnt use, sauna area good though. Bar prices very high
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, Surrey

Nice quiet hotel very close to the town centre

Posted Dec 23, 2016
This visit was to attend the Celle Christmas Market and Celle itself as we lived there during the 80's. The Hotel was lovely, the staff were very helpful and overall we had a great time. We would definitely visit again and the Althof Hotel Fürstenhof comes highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Ingo Schreiber, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with the Althoff hotel Früstenhof Celle and for rating your experience at Expedia.com. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stopover in our house. We shared your kind words with the whole team and we hope to have you back in Celle soon. With kind regards Ingo Schreiber Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best in Celle

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
The best things here are service and management. Wi-fi is stable just in several places. Noisy if people are living in naboring rooms. A historical building with lobby, bar and restaurant is charming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with the Althoff Hotel Früstenhof Celle and for rating our house at Expedia.com. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stopover in our house. Your kind words have been shared with the whole team. I forwarded your comment regarding the Wi-fi signal to our technical assistant and would like to apologize for inconveniences. With kind regards Ingo Schreiber Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Very cosy place, a small country feeling. Quite, great Resturant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location in center of Celle;

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Perfect setup and location for business and private meeting
Good service and very nice bar-, lounge- and restaurant- facilities; unfortunately the gourmet restaurant is open on weekends only leaving a less pleasant restaurant available only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Ingo Schreiber, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with the Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof Celle and for rating our house at Expedia.com. It is great to hear that you liked our culinary offer and therefore enjoyed your stay. Our gourmet restaurant will change its opening times in September. It will be open from Thursday to Saturday in the evening as well as Saturday for lunch. We hope to have you back soon! Kind regards Ingo Schreiber Manager
4 out of 5
by Beinta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shirley from Earl Shilton, Leicestershire

Prompt and Friendly Service

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
After a warm welcome at the Hotel by the friendly receptionist, we made our way to our room to which we approved of...Unfortunately we had a problem with a blocked toilet. We were very pleased how the staff dealt with this..as we were immediately given another room (upgraded). Breakfast every morning was absolutely lovely...the staff could not do enough for us. We used most of the facilities in the hotel, including the swimming pool. My husband and I will definitely book again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by Jennifer Pozorski, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with the Althoff Hotel Fürstenhof Celle and for rating our house on Hotels.com. It is great to hear that our staff made a good impression. We shared your kind comment with the whole team and are happy that you enjoyed your visit to the ducal town Celle. We hope to have you back soon! With kind regards Ingo Schreiber Manager