Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel in rainforest

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very impressive experiences in Ambong Ambong. It is a very special hotel on a hill, small but comfortable. We lived in room s3, the one on top, with great ocean view. Every morning, we were waken up either by thoes fighting monkeys on roof top of our room, or by the shower rain hotting the roof top. It is a kind of feel that is far away from big modern cities, relaxable. The staffs there are very nice and helpful. I would like to thank them again here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Serenity

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Peacefulness, setting in the rainforest amongst the most amazing flora and fauna, service, and warm atmosphere.
Location: 5 minutes from the beach. Fantastic anytime shuttle service provided by Ambong Ambong to town...so convenient
It is not often you stay at a Hotel that manages to create an atmosphere of friendliness and warmth with service that is dedicated and professional. My wife and I were thrilled to have experienced this and so much more staying at Ambong Ambong. The staff, management and owners John and Joan were amazing and truly committed to making sure our stay was memorable. We will definitely stay here again and look forward to experiencing the newest Ambong Ambong being built not far up the road, that we were told will have access to views of both sunrise and sunsets...can not wait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, England.

Lovely hotel. Exceptional hospitality.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Everything! But the outstanding features are the wonderful hospitality from all staff members and the location on a steep hillside in the forest.
Cons: No face cloths in the bathroom. We had to use the hand towels. But hardly a major problem!
Location: Nearest beach and some local restaurants are both about half a mile away. Cenang Beach and the main shopping/restaurant area is about 1.5 miles away.
One of the most delightful hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are outstanding. The hospitality feels more like staying in the home of good friends than a normal commercial hotel experience. The warmth of welcome goes well beyond just polite and efficient service, though they provide that too. Don't worry about the steep hill. Staff will drive you to your door in a four-wheel drive vehicle if you can't manage the climb. But we usually walked up. I counted about 250 steps from the bottom of the hill up to our room. We stayed in one of the suites. It was tranquil, comfortable and romantic. The bedroom and bathroom area is well isolated from the kitchen and living room area. Provided you keep the glass sliding doors shut between these two main areas there should be no mosquitoes in the bedroom or bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The shower always had hot water and decent pressure. The whole suite was very clean and in good condition. The kitchen and living room area was not air-conditioned but had two large ceiling fans which did a reasonable job. The view from our suite was spectacular, down through the lush green tropical forest to the sea below. I enjoyed just listening to the sounds of birds and insects and looking out for monkeys leaping about in the trees. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed trying the cooked Malaysian options. The service at breakfast was always very attentive to our needs and kindly. The lady who served us treated us like special friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hanoi Vietnam

Nice, nice, nice. Peace and quite.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff were the best - very courteous and helpful. The hotel is situated at the far end of Cenang beach but easy walking distance to e'thing
Cons: Internet could be faster. Rooms well provided but a dish cloth (for washing few dishes in kitchen) and face cloths in bathroom would be good additions
Arrived late and the staff were there to greet us and give us some guidance on where to eat so late (no restaurant for dinner on site, but plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance). Provided us with a phone for our entire stay so that we could call them if we needed a driver - restricted to short distance towards town - could also use for local calls. 11 rooms on site. Get the impression that you are in a small forest - lots of birds and monkeys to watch from the balcony. View was spectacular from the balcony so spent a lot of time there. One draw back is the steep hill on which the site is perched - one way to get your exercise. Staff always willing to drive you up to your room as needed. Breakfast in the morning was really well done and nice setting.
5 out of 5
by Candy

Tourist friendly

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is superb and they provide transport if u wanna go shop nearby the center
4 out of 5
by Young

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great except too steep slope to the hotel and room. They provided a ride to the room but it was uncomfortable to me while parking my rent-a-car.
4 out of 5
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by HANI MAHMOUD

Its a Lifetime Holiday

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
You will be just in Paradise ,,,we have booked the Suite room ,,,the view was remarkable from the room . You live in the forest were monkeys comes in the morning and wake you up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Unique Experience

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Nature setting & friendly staff
Cons: None
Location: On the quiet side of the island, you will want to rent a car or scooter to travel around. Close to airport, island hopping and Underwater World.
Not much to add other than what's already been mentioned by other guests. Here are some of our memorable moments upon checking in: -Being picked up by the dedicated hotel driver at the base of the mountain -Personal and friendly check in process at a comfortable setting at the bar. -Hot take-out food ready to eat free-of-charge as we check into our room -Watch monkeys move from tree to tree off our balcony in the middle of the day -Breath-taking views from our room -FREE Laundry service!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful rainforest setting, close to beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Points already highlighted sbove
Cons: Could possibly do with their own restaurant, although there is a Japanese restaurant next door to Ambong Ambong, and other restaurants near by.
Location: Restaurants and beach activities close by, tours from the hotel, plenty of eating places and beach activities in Cenang which is about 2 Kms away.
Relaxing stay, with bar and pool facilities. Extremely helpful staff made the stay most enjoyable. Did the bird watching trip with Wendy, which was excellent. The length of stay prevented other trips.