Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: The layout of the resort and approx 30% of the staff were friendly
we really liked the look and feel of the resort, we enjoyed the cleanliness and our room in particular, most of the swim up bar staff were delightful and some in the lobby but kitchen staff and most of the concierge were not welcoming, short and blunt and didn't understand English at all. we had to leave 1 day earlier for a family emergency back in Australia and we were given so much grief about it. the resort was very very quiet and the food in the kitchen was quite disappointing considering it was a 4 to 5 start resort. i had asked politely if there was more bread and butter pudding in the buffet breakfast, they eventually bought some out to the buffet 15 mins later and it was stone cold... this would have been ok if they said it was going to be cold but myself and a few of the guests were disgusted as we couldn't eat it. Good location though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Lovely resort with friendly staff

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Well planned , well presented and good location. Friendly helpful staff
Location: Close to the beach with ample amenities available close by at a reasonable price
The resort was well presented and maintained. The staff were friendly polite and eager to help. The facilities were very good and there was sufficient signage throughout the resort. The rooms were well designed spacious and clean with great facilities. Already planning a return visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Beach front room 10m from beach front

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Beach front and nice balcony area
Cons: Service can be improved and also sort out the foul smell from the leaking pipe outside our balcony.
Location: Worthwhile to visit Eagle square and Els Club at Teluk Datai
Just to be able to be so close to the beach and witnessed amazing sunset was probably the toast of our recent stay in Langkawi. Our recent stay met our expectations as the room were clean and nicely decorated and the room size was able to accommodate a spare bed for our daughter. Service level was nothing exceptional as I was disappointed with the time taken for the staff to bring some food for my wife and daughter from breakfast area for one of the morning. There was a also some foul smell just outside our chalet due to leaking pipes. Otherwise, the stay at Pelangi was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts UK

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Convenient to pool, beach and town. Great staff.
Cons: The rooms are dull and in need of refurb.
Location: Easy walk to town via road or beach. 15 min walk to underwater world. Taxis are very cheap to use only 20 myr to airport.
Stayed here for 7 nights with lovely pool side view which was very convenient for a morning and evening swim. Rooms are spacious and clean but for us does not rate as 5 star as are in need of refurb. However this did not prevent us from enjoying ourselves the hotel grounds are kept in immaculate condition and very close to beach with ample sun beds. The restaurants serve great breakfasts and dinners however we felt that drink prices are a bit over the top being that it's a duty free island you can buy a bottle of wine outside for the price of a glass in the hotel. There Is a good variety of restaurants within walking distance in town which you should try especially if you like fish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, very good location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Me and my husband stayed for 5 nights we arrived at 11pm at night and had no issues with Check in, we had booked the beach front room which was amazing as you get great views. The location is excellent walking distance to the shops and Restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Lovely hotel and will 100% return and recommend....................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Restful and Relaxing

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The tropical feel and gardens
Cons: The pool needed a little renovation on the tiles The chips served from cascade pool area were not hot
Location: We loved these restaurants in town- Orchid Ria ,The Cliff, Red Tomato Also a must visit is the cable car and the town of Kuah
We loved the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort it was a great location in that it was secluded as well as only a 10min walk to the town. We were upgraded to a beach view room which was fantastic. We had some enjoyable meals at CBA restaurant in the resort. The service was impeccable from arrival to the farewell. This is a duty free island so everything was very affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent beach resort at Langkawi

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Cons: Checkin could not faster.
Excellent property on the beach with all facilities. Pool is great and bar is splendid. Staff are friendly and courteous. Choice of food selection is good. Nothing to complain about this property. One of the best resorts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

A great few days

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Pools, spa, grounds.
Cons: Cocktails weren't quite up to scratch.
Even though the weather wasn't kind we had a good stay. Plenty to do, inside and outside the resort. Beach, and water, have too much rubbish, but this isn't the fault of the resort, they clean 'their' bit. More a sign of our littering, rubbish dropping, disposable, times. All in all the combination of beach, pool (and kids pool), spa, proximity to town, and friendly staff was a good one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great view - close to touristy areas in Langkawi

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Great beach and views from Mertius beach side villas. It has a great value for money given the ammenties and facilities they had. For a small island like Langkawi, Mertius sits in a prime location for Cenang Beach and the markets around it . The resort is about 25 minutes from the next town which has 2 malls and another toursity area. The resort met my expectations. They also had some good couple arrangements such as the romantic dinner put together on the beach, the food was wonderful and the staff at beach side restaurant cbr were friendly. It has great value and it was a wonderful stay for our honeymoon.