Ratings based on 1,807 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018
my stay was nice, clean and pleasant. The grille restaurant food was good also
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

So Relaxing , Clean and Excellent Customer Service

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Excellent customer service is very important to us,that the first impression of a hotel that should be on par. Great shopping and site seeing..
Cons: Every thing is just perfect for anyone who just wants to enjoy a comfortable, clean and excellent Hotel.
Location: You can walk China Town , shop in Center City ,Burlington ,CVS , Grey Hound , Dunkin Donuts ,Amtrak and don't forget Cheese steaks .
My family and I stayed in 2010, it was such an amazing experience that, we were so eager to return. We stayed there this Dec 2017 from the 27 Dec to 29th, such a pity we could not stay longer .We came all the way from the Cayman Islands in the Caribbean. First of all EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE , rooms are super clean and such a fresh smell it just made us feel so at home. We are already planning our 2018 vacation to go back and stay there for a bit longer. We love The Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

New Years

Posted Jan 2, 2018
The hotel was in a nice location, safe area to walk around and plenty of nice restaurants and night life
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coatesville, PA

Great location

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Staff is great
Cons: Hallways very dark and dim
Location: Reading Terminal, Chinatown, One Liberty Place...lots of shops nearby
The staff are friendly and very helpful. Location is perfect...so close to Reading Terminal, Chinatown, the Observation Deck at One Liberty Place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phila pa

Center city location

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Overpriced reservation time not honored Clerk rude breakfast the worst Assistant mgr never followed up with price adjustment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located clean hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Overall very nice and centrally located. Hotel staff was courteous, took our bags for storage without being asked, called us when the room was ready and let us check in at 1pm. 12 pm check out was very nice. Would be great if they offered breakfast- even some energy bars and water/juice would be good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Downtown hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2017
I stayed one night for a business trip. My first room was super tiny, and made me feel a bit claustrophobic. The windows are all sealed shut so you can't open them for air. There was also some stains on the bed skirt. I asked them for a larger room and was able to upgrade for an extra $25, which I accepted, and had to pay for it on my personal card (rather than my business card). Second room was a suite and had plenty of room, and no more stains. Still very stuffy though as the windows are sealed shut still. Maybe this is standard for hotel rooms above a certain floor, but it seems crazy to me to think that there hasn't been any fresh air let in for a very long time. The staff was very friendly. It was conveniently located to lots of shops, and was within walking distance of the convention center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shows its age, but great staff and good value

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Stayed while attending a convention across the street. Price was excellent, and having the Reading Terminal Market ~25 steps away was a great bonus. Staff: Excellent! From reception to dining to passing folks in the hall. Friendly *and* professional. Noise: The thin-glassed, aluminum-framed windows didn't cut down sound much, even 80 feet off the ground. Philly is a city of horn-loving drivers, and plenty of sirens and late-night arguments as well. The heavily-sprung, often-used exit door on the floor slammed hard enough to make ripples across water in a glass ... at all times of the day and night. And the walls are pretty thin -- was easy to make out not only that people were talking next door, but words in their conversation. Food/Bev: The 10th floor restaurant (short menu, plus breakfast buffet) and bar were okay. The service was excellent, the food was average, and the price is what you'd expect in a downtown hotel. The single-serving Keurig in the room was much appreciated (caff, decaff, and tea pods provided).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanover PA

Close to everything downtown

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Very clean & comfortable. Close to a lot of local attractions. The breakfast is always good. The service is very good.
Cons: The tv channels available need to be expanded. Not everyone watches news & sports.
Location: Reading Terminal is fantastic, we saw a show, Cirque Du Soliel, The Liberty Bell, and The Christmas Village.
This is the second time we stayed here. It is a very nice hotel. Clean, friendly and comfortable. The breakfast is always wonderful, and worth the extra money if its isn't included. It has free wi-fi which is necessary for me. If I have one complaint it would be the channel selection on the tv. When not out and about sightseeing or going to doctor appts (for me), there is not many channel choices. If you don't watch news or sports you're kinda out of luck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Center City

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location, room comfort, breakfast included
Cons: Variety of food served at breakfast
Location: Reading Terminal Market, Chinatown, Rittenhouse, City Hall Christmas Market,
Great hotel conveniently located near the Convention Center, Reading Terminal Market, Chinatown, and historic district. Walking distance to many great restaurants. Room was clean and comfortable, and all the staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, although repetitive (we had breakfast 3 times in the hotel restaurant, and every day the same items were being served) We will certainly look to stay here in the future when attending events in this area of Philadelphia.