Ratings based on 1,631 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by George

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel and location. We were overall very happy. Room a bit snug but comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Sally

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were extremely helpful and really nice. The lobby had a nice boutique feel. The room was very nice and clean. My only problem was that the bathroom door wasn't a typical door. It was a sliding closet type of door. I like more privacy, and this type of door doesn't allow that. I think this is a new style in hotel bathroom doors. All of the city attractions were in walking distance, and with the nice weather we walked a lot. We also booked with Hotels.com which included a free breakfast and vallet parking. This was a good choice, well worth the money.
3 out of 5
by J

Disappointed but clean and quiet.

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Wired place. They said you pay for wifi and I double checked then our last morning they said no it's free. The room was too small for a king bed which was soft and sagged in the middle. When we told them they forgot the top sheet they said that's how Meridian makes beds. They offered a sheet but just handed it to us. There were very few outlets. The shower was nice and the package breakfast was good and generous. The room was pretty quiet. On arrival the valets didnot offer help but when we left they did all the packing of the car for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Bill Hamby, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us! Our beds, which are very popular with guests, are made with a French Flair. The omission of the top sheet keeps the bed fresh and airy, allowing for a more comfortable night’s rest. I can understand your confusion, however. Most hotels have up to three separate sheets on the bed. Le Meridien tries to keep things much more simple, and carefree. There are several packages, especially on Expedia and Hotels.com, that offer complimentary Wi-fi. We are currently working on adjusting our pricing tiers so the confusion is put to rest. As of right now, there are some rates and packages that include internet access, and by accepting the charge, it is then adjusted off your final bill when you arrive here. We apologize for the confusion. I am very glad to hear the room was quiet, and the breakfast was hearty! Thank you for staying and we truly wish to welcome you back again in the near future!
5 out of 5
by Elisabeth

Oasis (and former Arch Street YMCA) in Philly

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
My sister and I converged on Philadelphia from Atlanta and San Francisco to celebrate Easter and give our 93 year-old aunt a hand with some chores. She is a stubbornly independent retired nurse who still drives and lives alone in a south center city neighborhood about 2 miles from the location of Le Meridien. There are hotels closer to my aunt's house (notably Sheraton Society Hill) but Le Meridien seemed like it would meet most of our needs for the long weekend at the best price, and it turned out to be the perfect choice. I booked a room with 2 beds, in-and-out valet parking, and American breakfast for 2 each morning for less than $200 per night on hotels.com, and we were able to use my aunt's car to come and go several times throughout our stay, helping her during the day with laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping, banking etc. Being able to come back to our clean, calm oasis at 15th and Arch each evening was the best! We also enjoyed swimming in the old YMCA pool adjacent to the hotel--free for hotel guests. The breakfast was delicious, the room was spacious, the Malin+Goetz toiletries were divine, the beds were super-comfortable, and everyone we encountered--from front desk to restaurant servers to valets--was so kind and helpful. I hope to stay at this property again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maid service never came one day

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
My room was not cleaned at all the first day. I left at 8:30!am an 9 hours later it was just as I left it. Unmade bed, dirty towels, used bathroom, etc., they simply "forgot" my room. Unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Bill Hamby, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent experience with us! I am so sorry to hear that your room was not serviced during your stay. We always give stayover service to those rooms that do not have a “Do Not Disturb” sign on. Our housekeeping team is usually here until 5pm, and always following up on those that initially refused service. We never mean to skip a room, and if it is, we are sincerely sorry. We always want a guest to have a fresh room upon arriving back to the hotel after a long day of work or sightseeing! I know if you were to visit again, we would make sure you receive all the services you are afforded! Best Regards.
5 out of 5
by James

Extremely pleased!

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
GREAT location. Excellent service! Entire staff extremely professional. All looked like they liked their jobs. Parking a pain & expensive.
5 out of 5
by Lois

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
It was a great place to stay and the perfect location. Really enjoyed it!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Well located city hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Modern, clean, rooms with high desks so you can work standing up.
Cons: Guests should be better compensated if they were not given the room type that was guaranteed in their reservations.
Location: Convenient downtown location and can walk to sights and restaurants.
Nice hotel, good location, simple but elegant lobby/lounge area. We specifically picked Le Meridien so that we could book a room with 2 double beds. But when we were checking in at 4 pm, we were informed that the hotel oversold and that we had a choice of full refund and go to another hotel or take a room with king bed plus roll away bed. Given it's already 4 pm, finding another hotel was not an option for us. We were annoyed with the offer of a full refund for cancellation because it clearly was not a viable choice for us. The room itself was nice but we were obviously less comfortable. On a different note, we were happy to have gotten a room with street facing window. I have noticed that many rooms have windows facing an enclosed atrium - which I would not have liked. Finally, we ate dinner in the lobby lounge/restaurant and the food was mediocre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Bill H., Hotel Management
Dear J- Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience with us! We love hearing from our guests. We're all very pleased to hear that the location was perfect for you. We're very close to all of the great sites, restaurants, and easy access to public transportation to get you anywhere in the city! I am very sorry to hear, however, that the room was not what you had expected. I never like hearing that a guest was uncomfortable because we couldn't deliver on our promise to guarantee a room type. We understand that families travel together often, and a hotel room should be the least of their worries in hopes of them enjoying their entire trip. I know we can do better, and I would really like to welcome you back. I know you would have a perfect experience on your next visit with us! Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Did not keep my reservation

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Excellent location
Had reserved and paid for a confirmed two double beds. Upon arrival were told that they do not have any available and gave us a king bed. I was traveling with my daughter.