Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
It was amazing. The room was very cosy and charming. And it was centrally located to everything so walking around was easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Quaint hotel in great location

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Location was great as was the historical feel of the hotel.
Cons: It would be nice to have more history about the hotel in each of the rooms.
Location: Close to the Independence Vistor Centre, Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Antique Row and South Street.
The staff were all very friendly and the room was lovely. The added bonus of fresh cookies and a glass of wine in the evening showed the value in staying at small hotels compared to the large chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beatrice, NE

A Philly Hidden GEM

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Super nice staff that is accomodating friendly & makes your stay enjoysble- from the manager on down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Charm in the city

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Orbitz
If you like character and want to getaway from chains... stay here. You feel like you are really living in the "old city" Location is perfect for historic area. A note that there is no elevator if your room is on 3rd floor, as ours was, it is a bit of a hike. Also a bit disappointed that the adjacent bar closed at 10:00 on a Friday night. The outdoor patio is cozy and very pretty. We plan to return in winter so we can enjoy fireplaces!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

An inn with character in a great location

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Character and location. We will stay again.
This is a wonderful place to stay that is near the historic Revolution sites and other locations significant in the early years of the Republic. It is a great retreat at the end of a day that is close to outstanding restaurants. The limitations I mention were minor for our trip, but worth bearing in mind. Our room had few and inconveniently located outlets. There was not a usable desk with lighting or outlets.
5 out of 5
by Freddie

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful property, service, ambiance.
5 out of 5
by William

Lovely, Well Located Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the hotel very much--it was quaint and beautiful. And the front desk people were terrific. I would like to suggest that the room we stayed in needs a better closet. The room could also use another mirror to be used for dressing and making ready, and the mirror should be in a lighted area.
3 out of 5
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ambience wins.....barely

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
You come for the ambience, the historical prominence, the old-school architecture. And that is exactly what they have put the effort into. The tea selection was great. The front door was grand and vines around the old-style brick patterns whispered of 18th century living, but the floor was damp, the sheets were stained, and I'm still getting over back issues from the sinking bed. But we didn't come for those things, so all in all, it was a peaceful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: No off-street parking -- but that is not something that can be changed.
Location: Within a 10-minute walk of almost everything in the Independence National Historic Park area.
If you are visiting Philadelphia to see its many historic sights, the Morris House is ideally situated. It is in a very safe neighborhood, and not over-priced. However, it is small and in great demand, so it's important to book your room as far in advance as possible.