Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Media, PA

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Large room, comfortable. Excellent location for visitors to Pennsylvania Hospital. Continental breakfast very adequate.
Cons: Wall Mitsubishi heaters should be turned on a few hours before guest arrives, especially when the outside temperature is below freezing.
My husband was in an intensive care unit at Pennsylvania Hospital. I had been traveling back and forth from Media PA. This night the weather was bad with freezing rain on all roads. I decided to stay in. The city and walked, with great care and fear, to the wonderfully nearby Morris House where I was welcomed with hearth fires and a complimentary glass of wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic building, but unpleasing aspects

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Historical aspect
Cons: Water pressure, breakfast items, and bed
Cool historic hotel, but with some caveats. The bed in our room was very squeaky, the water pressure in the shower was horrendous, and we didn't even have hot water one morning. Also, breakfast is included, but there is no 'hot' items--only croissants (which were very good), hard boiled eggs, and yogurts. Got sick of this breakfast by morning 3. The hotel manager upon our check out didn't even ask us how our stay was--very disappointing. For this, and other reasons listed, we probably won't be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
We're so glad we found the Morris House. It's absolutely charming and warm and has a great vibe. The staff was wonderful and friendly, and the location is perfect for most any destination in Philadelphia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
It was amazing. The room was very cosy and charming. And it was centrally located to everything so walking around was easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Quaint hotel in great location

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Location was great as was the historical feel of the hotel.
Cons: It would be nice to have more history about the hotel in each of the rooms.
Location: Close to the Independence Vistor Centre, Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Antique Row and South Street.
The staff were all very friendly and the room was lovely. The added bonus of fresh cookies and a glass of wine in the evening showed the value in staying at small hotels compared to the large chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beatrice, NE

A Philly Hidden GEM

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Super nice staff that is accomodating friendly & makes your stay enjoysble- from the manager on down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Charm in the city

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Orbitz
If you like character and want to getaway from chains... stay here. You feel like you are really living in the "old city" Location is perfect for historic area. A note that there is no elevator if your room is on 3rd floor, as ours was, it is a bit of a hike. Also a bit disappointed that the adjacent bar closed at 10:00 on a Friday night. The outdoor patio is cozy and very pretty. We plan to return in winter so we can enjoy fireplaces!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

An inn with character in a great location

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Character and location. We will stay again.
This is a wonderful place to stay that is near the historic Revolution sites and other locations significant in the early years of the Republic. It is a great retreat at the end of a day that is close to outstanding restaurants. The limitations I mention were minor for our trip, but worth bearing in mind. Our room had few and inconveniently located outlets. There was not a usable desk with lighting or outlets.
5 out of 5
by Freddie

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful property, service, ambiance.
5 out of 5
by William

Lovely, Well Located Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the hotel very much--it was quaint and beautiful. And the front desk people were terrific. I would like to suggest that the room we stayed in needs a better closet. The room could also use another mirror to be used for dressing and making ready, and the mirror should be in a lighted area.