Ratings based on 1,457 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Helpful staff would recommend. Looking forward to coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Not fit for guests

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Restaurant is ok. Good food but the woman behind the bar is surly
Cons: New linens, better HVAC system
My room was cold, the sheets on the bed were tattered, the faucets in the bath didn’t run cold water. I’ve stayed here before and been happy. But the place needs a major renovation now.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Convenient to Old Town

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: No other hotels were available for the last minute particular date we needed.
Cons: Mattress quality and firmness. Hot water availability. Size of the robes provided. Too small!. No phones in room so difficult to reach front desk.
Location: Conveniently located for old town. Convenient to Lincoln Park and Wells Fargo Center.
Less than adequate hotel. Location convenient for our purpose. Parking lot next door very accommodating. Bed mattress was extremely soft. Both of us rolled to the middle. There was no hot water upon awaking in the morning. Breakfast left a lot to be desired! Would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Charming Potential

Posted Dec 6, 2017
I was looking for a unique, older hotel for my Philadelphia work trip this week and definitely found that with Penn's View. The hotel is super boutique-y and has an amazing restaurant/wine bar on the first floor. The location was great as well, I was able to walk around the area and take in some interesting sites and food. The hotel fell short, for me, in a couple of areas. 1) Infrastructure issues - the room was great, but the hotel was under construction or renovation elsewhere, wall paper was peeling all over the place, and the elevator wasn't reliable. 2) The hotel staff were unapproachable and a bit rude. I almost felt like they were 'looking down their nose' at me. Adding a smile or some pleasantries like 'good morning' go a long way, and I would have appreciated it as their guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff and Customer Service

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Excellent staff and customer service. The location is a "double-edged sword" in that it is right in the heart of Old City and easy walking distance to many of the historic landmarks, attractions and restaurants, but the building's orientation, especially for the upper floors, puts you right at deck level with the Ben Franklin Bridge, so there is a bit of unavoidable traffic noise. However, the price, location, staff and service make staying here a wonderful value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to everything

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Excellent room, free breakfast, easy walking distance to many attractions.Nice bar and restaurant attached to hotel. Would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, DE

Nice hotel great location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: location, staff, small
Cons: lay out of room, more hooks and towel bars in the bathroom
Location: restaurants, historic sites, shopping
Always a pleasant stay at the Pennsview. Have stayed several times and we are never disappointed. Clean comfortable rooms and pleasant staff make for a wonderful stay. Convenient location to old city and public transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful hotel in Old City!

Posted Nov 23, 2017
I always look forward to staying at the Penn’s View when I come to Philly. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Helpful Staff; Close to Old City

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Location: Lots of restaurants and historical sites are within walking distance.
I was at a 3-day conference at a hotel chain nearby but prefer to stay in an off-site hotel. The staff was very friendly and welcoming offering suggestions for restaurants and directions to various locations. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sylva, NC

Very nice hotel close to historic district

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Smallish but comfortable lobby. Premium king room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. Jacuzzi tub. Gas fireplace. Very comfortable bed. Restaurant has amazing collection of by the glass wines. Food was very good too. Nice complimentary breakfast. Within walking distance of Independence Hall, Liberty Bell and other historic sites....Maybe 5-6 blocks. Convenient parking in private lot next to hotel for $28/night. what,s not to like.