Ratings based on 1,434 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walkable access to the historic district.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Historic look, staff, room, restaurants, location.
Cons: Room door was difficult to lock and unlock (old wooden door).
Location: Restaurants nearby and onsite. Very walkable to historic district including Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, US Mint, National Constitution Museum.
Historic building, well kept, excellent front desk staff and nice room. Room was clean, good sized and functional. Bathroom was a bit on the small side. Several restaurants nearby and one onsite. Very walkable to the historic district including Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, US Mint, and National Constitution Museum. Handy commercial parking lot next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely Stay

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Clean, Location
Location: In the old city area so close to the historical monuments and an area of town with character. All within an easy walk,
We had a lovely stay at the Penn's View Hotel. The location was fine. We did not have a view but as we were only there at night it meant we had a quiet room with no street noise. The complimentary continental breakfast of a good standard. The location is great for visiting the old city area. We would recommend this place and stay again if we were visiting Philadelphia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good quiet hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Good little hotel in philly. Close seaport museum and right on top of market street which have loads of places to eat and drink. Stayed all over Philadelphia and I would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The room was clean and neat. The ice machine was out of order on my floor and I needed to go search for one on the other floors. Otherwise, it was a good place to stay overnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great Hotel Near Museums and Dining

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The room was gorgeous. Brick wall, fire place.
Location: You can walk to Independence Hall and The Museum of the American Revolution and there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance.
The lobby is a bit underwhelming, but the staff and the rooms were incredible. You can walk to Independence Hall and The Museum of the American Revolution and there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kilmacolm,Scotland,U.K.

Really nice hotel close to the real history

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: So welcoming and helpful
Cons: Double glazing to reduce noise
Location: Great location to explore the city and its interesting history
The welcoming staff quickly set us up in our pleasant room. We were then off to discover Philadelphia which was very close with all its fantastic history. We returned to the hotel and found it had a really good restaurant and bar with a fantastic wine list which changed weekly. Good relaxing evening. The room was comfortable but noisy due to the close proximity of a motorway - ask for a room at the back. overall well situated and great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

such a warm, welcoming place - great vibe!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location, ambience, comfort, people
Cons: Not much.
Location: Located close to everything - Penn's Landing, historic sites, great restaurants, center city, and easy access to Ben Franklin Bridge/
It's just a great place. A very nice, relaxed, welcoming feel, not crowded, not stuffy, just a wonderful place in a nice location, easy to get to, and with a great wine selection and very nice restaurant. People are superb - friendly, helpful, inviting!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Good option

Posted Sep 21, 2017
My husband and I stayed here for a concert we went to on Festival Pier. The room was spacious and had wood floors and a marble bath. The bath was small but nice. The hotel had an old school feel (real room keys). Great location, could easily walk everywhere. Lots of great places to eat. Parking was a bit hectic but they have an attendant to park your car. The room didn't have a great view if you are looking for that sort of thing and it is close to the highway but you can't notice the noise if you have the air conditioning unit on. I would recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Rude manager

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I was enjoying my stay until I had the gall to ask for a fork. The manager spoke to me like i was a 3 year old child who he wanted to give a good spanking. Now maybe I need a good spanking sometimes, but he shouldn't be the one to offer it. I only wanted a fork ! They need to learn some manners over there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staid last night. Loved my room

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great staff. Great rooms. Great area. Great food and service. And a total value in room prices!