Ratings based on 1,491 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Very nice furnishings, close to center city

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Valet parking was $44 per day
Location: Very close to city hall, stores nearby etc. We were able to walk to every place we wanted to see!!
Very nice staff, we were able to check in later than expected due to traffic, room was very nice and clean. Close location to city hall, restaurants etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sonesta Philadelphia Rittenhouse Square

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
The name of the hotel is misleading as it is far away from the Rittenhouse Square. The room is very small with a little closet. The lobby of the hotel was noisy. The rate given by expedia when I booked my room was different than that mailed to me. Unfortunately I did not check it. This room is not worth what I paid for per night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Jordan C., Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. Our hotel is located in the heart of Center City Philadelphia, and is at the southern end of the official Rittenhouse Square neighborhood (we are at 1800 Market Street, which is the start/end point of Rittenhouse on the south side). I am guessing from your review that you confirmed a Petite Queen guestroom, and the lesser square footage of that room type is precisely why we've labeled the room type as petite, and we list the square footage (275-300 square feet) in the room type description. We'd ove for you to give us another chance--make sure to select a Deluxe guestroom for a more spacious living space during your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Beautiful, very spaciois, clean, modern room. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for posting a review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great area close to restaurants and Downtown

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Great area close to restaurants and walking distance to Downtown and key monuments. Rooms nice, clean and big.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for posting a review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Check in very easy, hotel staff professional and very nice... Room was very clean. Only negative Valet too expensive for a hotel stay, should be included in the room rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and for posting a review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your concern with the cost for parking to the garage ownership.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: location and style
very good location for a business meeting....convenient to eating and sites
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Jordan C., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel's iconic location in the heart of Center City, steps from a plethora of world-class restaurants, shops, and attractions. We've recently completed a $35 million hotel renovation, and I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel's new look and vibe. We look forward to hosting you again in Philly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Downtown philly looks like a boutique hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Looks like a boutique hotel but does not deliver as one. Crumbled food on the floor in the room. Was put on a room next to the elevators, feeling like it’s because I booked thru expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Good Morning Susan, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that the hotel and its team did not meet your needs and expectations. I assure you that the team here at the hotel does not make decisions on which room is reserved for a guest based on the booking channel that the guest uses. The hotel values each and every guest. I will be sharing your comments with the team, especially the Housekeeping team as it relates to the cleanliness of your room. Again thank you for your stay and I sincerely hope that you will still choose to be a guest at the hotel the next time you are traveling to the area. Please have a wonderful week. Brian Sheridan Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Good Location

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Good location. Friendly and efficient staff.
Cons: The decor was just okay. The breakfast choices could be improved.
Location: There are many, many restaurants near by. Also, lots of shopping.
We stayed at the Sonesta for two nights during the Thanksgiving holiday. Unfortunately for us, a few buses filled with high school students pulled up to the hotel at the same time we got there. This hotel is close to the Thanksgiving Day parade route and the kids were all marching in it! However, I must say the hotel staff was quick and efficient getting everyone checked in. There was a long wait for the elevators but again the hotel staff moved us all along. We ate breakfast in the hotel lobby which was okay. The staff was wonderful and we had no complaints about them. This hotel is in a good location and once we parked our car in the garage next door we walked everywhere. It is not the Ritz but it was okay for the two nights we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your stay and posting a review. I look forward to having you as a guest at the hotel again the next time you are traveling to the area. Brian Sheridan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Modern Hotel, Great Price, Prime Location!

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Hotel was very clean, modern and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was excellent.
Location: This hotel is located in the heart of Philadelphia with many things to do within walking distance.
Hotel was very clean with a modern feel. Staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect! The Sonesta is located right in the heart of Philadelphia with many things to do within walking distance. Overall, we had an excellent experience and would recommend it to anyone visiting Philly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Jordan C., Hotel Management
Raymond, I'm delighted that you enjoyed such a wonderful experience as our guest recently at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square. Our hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Center City as you've described, so there are so many great restaurants, shops, and attractions within easy walking distance from the hotel. I'm delighted that my terrific team delivered such friendly, helpful service excellence! We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit downtown Philadelphia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NC

Beautiful view and a great location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The location, and the friendliness of the staff. The person who cleaned our room was also courteous and friendly.
Cons: The parking for this hotel was pricy. Not much more than other parking decks, but considering our stay, I wish there was a discount.
Location: We walked to a few nice restaurants and the city square. We saw the Thanksgiving Parade. One place we liked to get a quick bite was Midtown III.
We stayed on the 18th floor and had a nice view of the buildings and streets below. Most of the places we went to were within walking distance. Everyone I talked to who worked at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Jordan C., Hotel Management
Eric, thank you for spending Thanksgiving with us at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown Rittenhouse Square! I'm glad to know that you enjoyed the parade, as well as several of the great places to dine within steps of our Center City hotel. I'm delighted that my terrific team provided such friendly, helpful service throughout your visit. Regarding the parking facility, the adjacent parking garage is privately owned and managed, and many guests choose to park offsite for more affordable parking options. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Philly!