Ratings based on 3,838 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel near historic sites but.....

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Hotel was in a great location near all of the historic sites. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was very accommodating. Unfortunately they were renovating at the time of our stay, which we were unaware of, so the hotel was noisy, the lobby was nonexistent and when you walked into the hotel we were met with dust coming from the construction. Once the construction is complete this hotel will be one of the best places to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Excellent Hotel in Perfect Location

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect for sightseeing in the Old City area.
Hotel was a short walk to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell and many other historic sites. The staff were super friendly. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a bit expensive but the food was very good. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Steps to Independence Hall

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I only stayed one night at The Franklin Hotel but I had a nice stay. The hotel is literally steps away from Independence Park and is well located to plenty of places to eat and grab a drink. The rooms in this hotel are nice and comfortable. Overall I can recommend this hotel particularly if you're visiting Independence Park and the Liberty Bell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, New York

Location was perfect!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The most important historical sites were easy to walk to. Lovely shaded "mini parks" to sit in for a while! There was no need to use the car! Good restaurants nearby. Five minute walk to the new American Revolution museum ( 5 stars!)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Under Construction (Expedia forgot to mention)

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I stayed at the Franklin several years ago, and remembered it as a very nice hotel. This time, however, the entire hotel was undergoing massive construction to the point that it was effectively not functioning as a hotel. The lobby was closed; the entrance was moved to a narrow hallway with construction tape and wet paint; a temporary check in desk was hastily assembled and a sad little temporary bar was put up that looks like a bar in an rural airport. One guy was sometimes available to help with luggage, but if he was helping someone else, then you were out of luck. Really, the hotel should have shut down rather than luring paying guests there under false pretenses. It would have been helpful if Expedia had warned people about the situation when booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Franklin

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic location and staff. We would return.The Franklin Hotel is the perfect spot to be a Philadelphia tourist or if you want to stay in "Old City" Philadelphia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Total disappointment

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I booked this hotel for 50% more than similarly rated hotels, because this one had better reviews, and I wanted the best for my family's long awaited one-night stay over in Philadelphia. My wife and our kids stayed in the hotel for one night, and we were woken up early morning for heavy renovations. Nowhere was I told about the renovations while booking the hotel on Expedia, and the hotel staff did not offer anything to make me feel that they cared that our one night vacation was ruined.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The room service was bad also the valet was terrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Being renovated. No work out room to use. Handle in shower about to fall off. Very convenient to sites. Staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Location location location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Loved it. Perfect location. Staff very friendly. Recommend hands down. Will only be staying here when in Philadelphia.