Ratings based on 3,885 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ann arbor, mi

Nice hotel, good location, GREAT staff

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The hotel building and furnishings are older, but in a somewhat quant way. There is some construction going on, which hasn’t caused us any problems and an update would definitely make the hotel more comfort (old mattresses) and visually appealing. The staff have all been AMAZING and they are the biggest reason I would recommend this hotel. Also, the “old look” is appealing. We haven’t tried the restaurant, but plan to have breakfast in the morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Very unhappy . Hotel was terrible. Ruined our trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to some many places in Philly

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We went to The Franklin as we were attending a wedding. The Franklin lobby is currently under renovation so construction was ongoing but minimal noise. All construction was behind the scenes so it didn't affect our stay. The staff at all positions was friendly and willing to help with anything needed. We would definitely stay at The Franklin again. Great area to walk around and see so many tourist attractions in walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Hotel being remodeled.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Hotel is being remodeled. Loud construction noise began promptly at 8AM. Lobby is closed and entrance is not pleasant. Breakfast buffet more appropriate for a lesser quality hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Old City Franklin Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and the other guests were nice.
Cons: Do a remodel. I get the old-timey charm but the wallpaper is dirty and dated. The carpet is creepy and such a great small hotel deserves some love.
Location: The Liberty Museum is great. I trekked to the Mutter which is creeeeeepy in the best way.
I did love this hotel and the staff was excellent. Its a small hotel but the room I had was by the elevator and it had a joining room. I didn't spend too much in time in it since I was in a conference but when I was there I could hear everything. The worst part was the toilet, it sounded like a witches scream it was horrible but the rest was great. It was walkable area and Buddakan was down the street. GO THERE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Convenient to historical sights

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: All the greenery nearby, convenience to sights, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast buffet.
Cons: Cleaner windows on the outside, as the views were so great to look at.
Location: new Museum of the American Revolution, Independence Hall and Liberty Bell, Christ Church Burial Ground, City Tavern, First and Second Banks of the US
Wonderful stay visiting the new Museum of the American Revolution and all the historical sights nearby; too many to list!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel near historic sites but.....

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Hotel was in a great location near all of the historic sites. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was very accommodating. Unfortunately they were renovating at the time of our stay, which we were unaware of, so the hotel was noisy, the lobby was nonexistent and when you walked into the hotel we were met with dust coming from the construction. Once the construction is complete this hotel will be one of the best places to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Excellent Hotel in Perfect Location

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect for sightseeing in the Old City area.
Hotel was a short walk to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell and many other historic sites. The staff were super friendly. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a bit expensive but the food was very good. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Steps to Independence Hall

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I only stayed one night at The Franklin Hotel but I had a nice stay. The hotel is literally steps away from Independence Park and is well located to plenty of places to eat and grab a drink. The rooms in this hotel are nice and comfortable. Overall I can recommend this hotel particularly if you're visiting Independence Park and the Liberty Bell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, New York

Location was perfect!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The most important historical sites were easy to walk to. Lovely shaded "mini parks" to sit in for a while! There was no need to use the car! Good restaurants nearby. Five minute walk to the new American Revolution museum ( 5 stars!)