Ratings based on 1,942 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Drexel Hill, PA

Great Location

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The hotel is perfectly situated in Old City. We were able to walk and see the historic sights in Philadelphia. Great size rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston ma

One day trip

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Wasn't impressed... worn out look and interior... subpar facilites... construction noises in morning...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Comfy hotel near shops on Market St

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Overall a good stay. Room was comfy but bathroom needs renovating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa OK

Hotel is being remodeled until the end of March 20

Posted Nov 28, 2017
First floor is under construction so it has no Lobby. Checkin is set up in floor 2 but can't be seen by the elevator. Only has two elevators and only one goes to the ground floor. The checkin location is just a small counter. Little signs give directions that only make sense if you already know. The jack hammer was deafening, starting at 8 am and ending about 4pm. Sleeping was impossible with that and then loud street signs. Room is a nice size but there was black marks in the wall. Sheer curtain had holes. Dusty. Awful coffee and pot. Bed sagged and pillows were flat/old. Not worth what I paid. And I didn't feel safe in the neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orrs Island, Maine

Bad Experience

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: They should have shut the hotel completely down while it was undergoing renovations.
Location: Good central location in historical Philadelphia
The hotel was undergoing renovation. They really should have shut it down while renovations were being done. There was dust everywhere. There were makeshift entryways and reception areas in the hotel. Most of the facilities were closed. There was dust in the air. Jackhammers started working at 8:30 AM in the morning. You almost had to have a hard hart to walk through temporary entrance area which was all covered with plastic. This was the worst hotel I have ever experienced. A consumer rip-off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ann arbor, mi

Nice hotel, good location, GREAT staff

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The hotel building and furnishings are older, but in a somewhat quant way. There is some construction going on, which hasn’t caused us any problems and an update would definitely make the hotel more comfort (old mattresses) and visually appealing. The staff have all been AMAZING and they are the biggest reason I would recommend this hotel. Also, the “old look” is appealing. We haven’t tried the restaurant, but plan to have breakfast in the morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Very unhappy . Hotel was terrible. Ruined our trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to some many places in Philly

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We went to The Franklin as we were attending a wedding. The Franklin lobby is currently under renovation so construction was ongoing but minimal noise. All construction was behind the scenes so it didn't affect our stay. The staff at all positions was friendly and willing to help with anything needed. We would definitely stay at The Franklin again. Great area to walk around and see so many tourist attractions in walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Hotel being remodeled.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Hotel is being remodeled. Loud construction noise began promptly at 8AM. Lobby is closed and entrance is not pleasant. Breakfast buffet more appropriate for a lesser quality hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Old City Franklin Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and the other guests were nice.
Cons: Do a remodel. I get the old-timey charm but the wallpaper is dirty and dated. The carpet is creepy and such a great small hotel deserves some love.
Location: The Liberty Museum is great. I trekked to the Mutter which is creeeeeepy in the best way.
I did love this hotel and the staff was excellent. Its a small hotel but the room I had was by the elevator and it had a joining room. I didn't spend too much in time in it since I was in a conference but when I was there I could hear everything. The worst part was the toilet, it sounded like a witches scream it was horrible but the rest was great. It was walkable area and Buddakan was down the street. GO THERE!