Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close in but noisy

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Location was close to everything downtown.
Cons: Filtering out of street noise.
My hotel room was nice enough but it was on the second floor and a good deal of street noise came into the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Saturday Night in Philadelphia

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Boutique hotel with local art pieces displayed prominently. Room was spacious with large bedroom and bathroom, Clean and well kept. Great service Central location was great to access dinner but downside of area was loud street noise into the AM hours. Room’s heating fan system was also a bit loud
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mentor, Ohio

6 a.m. wake up

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was fantastic. The only complaint is the 6 a.m. wake up from the garbage trucks on Locust St. Overall it is in a great location and walking distance to all attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice "boutique" hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
This is a unique hotel in a converted older building. Rooms are modern and up to date, but the historic feel is still there. A good value and a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful and beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Very helpful, friendly and accommodating staff helped our group all weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor management and customer service

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service and management
Unfortunately we cannot say anything about the interior of the hotel since we never saw it. We would be happily give a 0 though for poor management and customer service. We made and fully paid for our reservations (queen size beds + breakfast) through EXPEDIA and arrived there tired at 9:00pm to find out from the front desk employee that they did not have a room for us and they were forwarding us to a different hotel with smaller beds, higher parking rates and possibly not breakfast included (still trying to communicate with the other hotel about that). Not apologetic at all about that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel close to great sights

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location, chic decorations, light breakfast included, free wifi.
Cons: Probably could have changed the duvet cover and sheets at least once in five nights.
Location: Bars, restaurants, theatre, hospitals. Lots of historic homes and sites.
I had a family member in the Pennsylvania Hospital for a week. I wanted a nice hotel close enough to walk back a fourth so I wouldn't need to keep parking and moving my car. The location ended up being perfect, so close to Penn. Hospital, Jefferson, etc. What I didn't realize was how vibrant the neighborhood is. There are many bars and restaurants so close. The hotel itself is and old building remodeled into chic boutique inn. I stayed in room with a queen bed and hardwood floors. Bathroom was nice and the ceilings were at least 10 ft high. All and all a great experience.
5 out of 5
by Lynne

Comfy. Very clean

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel to stay at. Ladies at the front desk are outstanding. Especially Shauna. - Lynn E.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Very, very nice and helpful staff! I might stay again, but more than likely I'd try for a chain hotel first. We had to switch rooms because of room temperature and condensation on the bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely overnight stay.

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
We felt that the Independent had more character and personality than many of the hotels in the area. The service was quite good. Of course, the location is wonderful with many interesting views and quality establishments within a short walk.