Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Great get away

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We went for an overnight get away room was very clean bed was comfortable love this place and would stay again. My only problem was the orange juice for breakfast tasted terrible . I'm sure if we asked for replacement we would have gotten it . But didn't bother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Staff was friendly. Easy to park. Would stay here next time In Philly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Beautiful clean room and close to everything. We really appreciated the complimentary wine and bar snacks from 6 to 7 in the evening. We'd definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Bed and Breakfast style hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The Independent Hotel was a nice boutique establishment nestled in the heart of downtown Philadelphia. Caddy corner to the hotel was the breakfast cafe called Green Eggs. The breakfast was amazing when we finally settled in and decided to eat out for the morning. Any hoot back to the Independent. The staff were very professional and helpful. Lisa provided us with direction regarding where to go and what were some must see attractions in the area. Her guidance was extremely helpful and made our trek through the city seemless. The hotel was very clean and the decor provided a nice collection of the artistic beauty of the city on the walls throughout the hotel. Our room provided a nice touch of privacy since we were traveling as a family. We booked a double bed room and when we openned the door we were greated with a bed and breakfast style room. There were hardwood floors on the main level that included a pull out wall bed and a sofa couch with a flat screen television. The main level had the traditional amenties and included a powder room. There was a large window that practically went from the floor to the ceiling. There was an upstairs level that was set up as a loft with a full bathroom and another flat screen television. All major attractions were within walking distance (Reading Terminal, Independent Hall, Liberty Bell, City Center). Just know they promote free breakfast. It only includes juice, bagels, fruit and yogurt delivered each morning to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Good facilities and breakfast. Good location close to restaurants, attractions and shops. Enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
by Mary

Clean, confortable, and strategically located

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
This location in the Washington Square district is perfect to access both Rittenhouse and the historic old city. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and low-key, and reasonably priced considering that it is in Center City. I would definitely stay again !
4 out of 5
by Vicky A

Nice hotel, poor service

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
First off, this hotel is smack dab in the middle of EVERYTHING! Walking distance to wherever you want to be in Philly. Side note: the restaurant right next to it, Bud and Marilyn's, is AWESOME! Highly recommended. The hotel itself is super cute, room was lovely! Nice little place. BUT! Service at this hotel was a bit of a joke. Only one of the employees was really able to get anything done, I think he was possibly the manager and he had to keep apologizing for stuff. One day we got back in and our room hadn't been touched by housekeeping, despite us having requested it. We had to call the front desk for toilet paper and towels so he brought some up and apologized. A couple other annoying instances like that occurred. Finally, they charged my friend's credit card for parking after we left. Not sure why the heck they did that since they told us to pay at the structure multiple times. Overall, nice place and you definitely cannot beat the price for the value! As long as you go in expecting minimal service, I'd recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Designer hotel........forget room service

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very quick overnight stay. We woke up to room service breakfast which was not good. We chose two different breakasts but we bothgot large, bagels with no one to warm up. Id stay here again and go out for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels