Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Great get away

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We went for an overnight get away room was very clean bed was comfortable love this place and would stay again. My only problem was the orange juice for breakfast tasted terrible . I'm sure if we asked for replacement we would have gotten it . But didn't bother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Staff was friendly. Easy to park. Would stay here next time In Philly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Beautiful clean room and close to everything. We really appreciated the complimentary wine and bar snacks from 6 to 7 in the evening. We'd definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Bed and Breakfast style hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The Independent Hotel was a nice boutique establishment nestled in the heart of downtown Philadelphia. Caddy corner to the hotel was the breakfast cafe called Green Eggs. The breakfast was amazing when we finally settled in and decided to eat out for the morning. Any hoot back to the Independent. The staff were very professional and helpful. Lisa provided us with direction regarding where to go and what were some must see attractions in the area. Her guidance was extremely helpful and made our trek through the city seemless. The hotel was very clean and the decor provided a nice collection of the artistic beauty of the city on the walls throughout the hotel. Our room provided a nice touch of privacy since we were traveling as a family. We booked a double bed room and when we openned the door we were greated with a bed and breakfast style room. There were hardwood floors on the main level that included a pull out wall bed and a sofa couch with a flat screen television. The main level had the traditional amenties and included a powder room. There was a large window that practically went from the floor to the ceiling. There was an upstairs level that was set up as a loft with a full bathroom and another flat screen television. All major attractions were within walking distance (Reading Terminal, Independent Hall, Liberty Bell, City Center). Just know they promote free breakfast. It only includes juice, bagels, fruit and yogurt delivered each morning to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Good facilities and breakfast. Good location close to restaurants, attractions and shops. Enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Designer hotel........forget room service

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very quick overnight stay. We woke up to room service breakfast which was not good. We chose two different breakasts but we bothgot large, bagels with no one to warm up. Id stay here again and go out for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The only negative was parking. It didn't bother me that it was a block away. Since the hotel was centrally located we walked every where so we didn't need the car. The fee for four days was $98.44 which effectively added $25 a day to the hotelbill. But even with the parking cost it was still a great deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Lovely place to stay.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Our room was huge and very well equipped. The location was great -- close to Center City and Independence Hall as well as many good restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.