Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel but didn't deliver on two double beds

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Location: Location is top notch and tough to beat across the street from City Hall and right in the heart of Center City.
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Center City, Philadelphia is a beautiful and historic building that perfectly fits the old charm of the birthplace of freedom. The hotel exterior is nothing short of majestic and the interior lobby and bar area is incredibly beautiful. The one thing that I had a problem with was I specified in my booking that I wanted a room with two double beds to accommodate myself and a buddy whom I was visiting and they told me they were out of double bed rooms and that I would be "upgraded" to the 27th floor. While my view was nice and I was higher up than expected it made for a less than comfortable Friday night stay with my buddy and I sharing a Queen bed. I would have had less of a problem if I was compensated on the price of the room or even given more of a heads up. However, neither were presented to me and therefore I cannot give my stay a 5 star review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

not sure if five star quality

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Staff was helpful. If traveling with your dog you may be disappointed with the amenities- not five star quality AT ALL. Despite calling to confirm twice before arrival, they were not ready with the dog accommodations. Once the dog bed arrived it was flimsy and tiny (despite the fact that our dog was well below the weight limit, the bed was too small for him). They did accommodate our late checkout request -which was very helpful. We have stayed at the ritz Philadelphia consistently since it opened, and, sadly the quality of the hotel has gone down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

As Bad As It Gets

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The security guard was great.
Cons: Corporate needs to come in and clean house to protect the brand. This left an indelible impression on me.
I am fortunate to stay in many great hotels, and was looking forward to the Ritz in Philadelphia. It went wrong from the get go. Problems: 1. Check-in was somewhat rude and lackluster. 2. Room was near the elevator although I requested to be as far away as possible and was assured I was. 3. Room smelled of smoke. A call to the front desk informed me that it was the restaurants wood burning oven and not to worry. I mentioned that I wasn't worried, its just that the smell of smoke was irritating. They did not offer to change my room instead sending up a very nice security guard who said "yes this is much stronger than usual. I will inform the manager. " 4. Hallways filled with dirty dishes and linens collected from the rooms. Left there most of the day. 5. No concierge on duty the three days of my stay. Was told that the front desk was acting as concierge. Often times the line to check in at the front desk was 20 or so frustrated people so this was not possible 7. Food in hotel was sub par. Steak was overdone. Hardboiled eggs came out peeled and cold obviously from the fridge. 8. No robe in room 9. Called the manager numerous times to see if something could be done. No call back. Happened to be leaving the hotel and walked past a young woman with a name tag and asked her if she knew the manger. She said she was the manger. I shared the above with her and while somewhat contrite, offered no solution. Did offer to buy me breakfast though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hunterdon County, NJ

Wonderful!

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Staff was prompt and friendly. Room was immaculate. Beautiful hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Fantastic weekend getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The hotel was beautiful and clean; the staff was absolutely unobtrusive and responsive. I was given a room early (around 1pm rather than usual check-in time of 4pm), and the view was fantastic. Several days prior, I asked for a slice of chocolate cake on Sunday morning. It was delivered, with wonderful coffee, and it was wonderful. A magical weekend at the RC in Philly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orefield, PA

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Two very small areas that could be improved. Number one; the bar does not have any light blended Scotch, such as J and B, Cutty Sark, or ruffed grouse . Even the assistant manager noted the above. Number two; the music in the bar area in the evening is not conducive for the older generation to stay there and enjoy a late night visit. The music should be more easy listening rather than African drums. The stay actually was very good except for two small areas as noted above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was excellent location for concert, shopping

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The staff was unbelievable! They could Not have gone out of the way anymore to help with any request we had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north jersey

Good location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
5 stars hotel. No pool. Or parking. Very dry. And flat. Staff was great. So very nice
5 out of 5
by VIREN

Nice experience!

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very nice experience, we reached around 2 pm but the check in time was 4 pm, our room was not ready but the lady at the reception upgraded us to another nicer room ... everything was amazing!
5 out of 5
by Dolly

Weekend getaway

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Hotel. In walking distance to shops & fine dining. Staff friendly. Would stay there again. Its was a perfect weekend in Philly