Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Suffering from end of Season tiredness.
Location: Canterbury Shaker village well worth a visit
Room, with balcony and a great view across the lake. Good facilities in the town, good breakfast at the local café and excellent dinner at Lavinia's. Oh and there is also a fabric and quilt shop!
2 out of 5
by Jim reilly from Moody al

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Very disappointed in this stay. Over priced, service was terrible. Did not clean room properly. No bath mat or shampoo. No one in the office to complain to. View was very nice but also very loud. Wife had to climb stairs no elevator and after 2 knee replacements made it difficult. Would not recommend this
2 out of 5
by James reilly from Alabama

Not much for the money

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was in a nice location, but the cleanliness was poor as was the service. Room cleaning consisted of adding towels and partially making beds. Shampoo, etc. was not replenished, nor was coffee. Outside noise started very early and was disturbing. Would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by cartmanray from Long Island

wonderful views but!!!!

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
A really nice location; great views of the lake, easy walking to dinning and some really nice stores BUT the Inn is really in need of a major "do over." The building and rooms are rather shabby and worn; the hallways are musty and cold. The rooms have comfortable beds but the linens on the bed and the towels in the bathroom are worn and almost thread bare!! The lighting in rooms is pitiful and and if you have to charge a lap top or tablet you are going to have difficulty finding a convenient socket! I think the cost of the rooms are high for what you get beyond the location and I would be hesitant about staying their again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel right on the water

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: Update TV and furniture.
Although this hotel is dated, it is very clean. The upkeep is impeccable! My example of being dated: New white toilet with sunshine yellow sink from the 70's. But very clean! Tube TV, but very clean. And right on the lake with a private beach area. We were very happy staying here and would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Great location. Hotel is old and tired. Indoor-outdoor carpet in room was a mess.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, units in need of repair

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Cons: The building needs to be torn down and rebuilt.. they could charge $ 100.00 more in season and get it
This location is unbeatable. The current owner is very nice but the rooms are pathetic. 1950's style with small toilets and old fixtures. The building is just too old and dilapidated. Too bad because the views and location are to die for. Your choice, location or comfort. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
by catherine from bolton

Great location on the lake

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location just on the lake for views
Cons: Repair rotting balcony so consider guest comfort when decorating exteriors, inform guests that breakfast is not available.
Location: Lakes and mountains
On arrival they had us booked in for the following night, fortunately not a problem as we were just off season, this was obvious as they were in the process of redecoration, painters on the balcony while you're in the room is not conducive to comfort though. The balcony was rotting but the view was good. No breakfast available due to being early season, this information was not given when booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to water and close to quilt shop.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: close to quilt shop.
Cons: See above
Location: NA
The room was not in greatest shape. Baseboard were dirty and the screen to the deck was ripped. Sliding door hard to open and close. No guide for TV stations. Light over one of the beds did not work. All in all not a place I would return to.
4 out of 5
by L p from Vermont

Peaceful and relaxing

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
The lake was so nice and I enjoyed your own deck to sit and watch the boats the town was cute the restruants to eat at were very good food got to try the conoe it was great I loved the whole place would stay again