Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel in city center

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Clean, good location and friendly staff! What more could you ask for?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Great location

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location and bed comfort
Cons: Cooked Breakfast a bit hotter
Location: Very central
Great rates for city centre hotel . The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was large and clean. Not much parking so expect to go to the nearby car park at £1 per hour from 8-8. Breakfast good but hot food was a bit cool , enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
by Morag

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
The only problem we had with the hotel is outside noise at 3.30 am when the nightclub closes and a takeaway across from the hotel. The staff were very understanding but really can't do anything other than told us to ask for a room at the other side of the hotel next time.
5 out of 5
by james

lovely hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
loved our stay at the holiday inn express it was spotless clean and warm and comfortable, lovely staff were so helpfull,i left my phone charger in the room, phoned about it next day and it was in a package waiting for me to collect with my name on it! very helpfull and friendly! will certainly be back!
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Emma

Good for a city centre overnight stay.

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful staff. Room clean and comfortable. Public carpark just a minute walk away (hotel carpark very small). Breakfast convenient, hot and fresh.
2 out of 5
by Chris

Poor service and uncomfortable beds

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointing for a Holiday Inn Express. In spite of watching the night clerk write down my wake-up call, the morning staff forgot to make it. This was not a big deal as the bed was so uncomfortable that I woke up early with an aching back. Breakfast was uninspiring with scrambled eggs that appeared to come from a box. Not up to their usual standards.
4 out of 5
by James

A pleasant interlude

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely, friendly, helpful staff. Scrambled eggs a wee bit on the dry side - could be tastier. Good selection of whiskies at the bar. Very quiet and tranquil considering central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Good position

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Area
Cons: Extra bed , not pull out sofa bed
Location: Buses , shops etc .
Clean , neat , good breakfast . Close to a Main Street with buses , shops , take away & pubs . . Pull out bed difficult to sleep on .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Incorrect dirty room

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We booked , and had confirmation for, a room with two double beds. They had reserved a room with one . Swapped to rom with an uncomfortable sofa bed . Dirty usdcotton wool swans on floor and ppillows that smelt so badly of sweat that the odour woke you from your sleep .!